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FALSE-CARDING 
 

     “False-Carding” in Bridge is the art of intentionally, deceptively playing one’s cards in such a 

manner so as to deceive the Opponent(s), thereby maximizing the number of tricks secured during the 

play of the hand.  It can be utilized by either the Declarer or the Defenders in order to fool the other.  An 

important rule: When false-carding, don’t think too long.  Be prepared, and play smoothly.  Taking 

time to think may make the opposition suspicious.   

   
 

A. False-Carding By the Defenders 
 

     Defenders have to be careful that they don’t deceive each other when honest strength or count signals 

are actually needed, and must guard against frequent, reckless false-carding to the extent that Partnership 

trust is lost.   True, occasional false-carding by a Defender may also fool one’s Partner, but that is the 

price one pays for false-carding while on defense.    

 

Uses For False-Carding By Defenders 
 

                  1)  To give Declarer an alternative preference of how to play a suit, when otherwise, not 

having false-carded would have left no other choice but the one that would be successful for the 

Declarer. 

                          a) In either a Suit or in a No-Trump contract, Declarer plays the Ace and intends to 

finesse with the Jack next (the standard, best percentage play.) 

                                         KJ987                   In order to deceive the Declarer, East should  

                             Q43                    105     play the 10 under the Ace.   Declarer reasons  

                                           A62              that playing the 10 might very well be a forced card from a Q10 

holding (more likely than from a singleton 10).  So Declarer plays the King on the second round and 

loses an unnecessary trick, as the originally-intended finesse would have worked, if finessed. 

 

                  2)  To confuse the Declarer as to the distribution of the suits and the placement of any 

outstanding high-cards held by the Defenders. 
 

 

                           a) In either a No-Trump or a Suit contract, Declarer leads low to the Jack, intending, if 

it wins, to play the Ace next and pick up the entire suit, assuming that the King doubleton is on side.             

                                                 AJ64                          In an effort to deceive Declarer, 

                                       K5                   1082      under the Jack, East plays the 10 (or the 8).   

                                                 Q973            Seeing this, Declarer now has another option: go back to 

his/her hand and lead the Queen. This picks up the whole suit whenever East has the doubleton 108 and 

also protects against two losers if East has played a singleton.   Even if Declarer knows East might be 

false- carding, he/she is likely to fall for this.   Note: If East were to have played the 2 first, it leaves 

Declarer with no other choice but to succeed by playing the Ace from Dummy and a low card from 

his/her hand at trick #2. 
 

                           b)               AK107                Declarer leads to the K.   If both Defenders follow low, 

                                    J6                     Q4    the Declarer has no other choice but to play the Ace next.    

                                              98532           If, however, West were to play the Jack at trick #1, Declarer 

may play West for the QJ6 and go back to his/her hand for a finesse of the 10 which would then lose to 

East’s doubleton Queen.  At least you have given Declarer a chance to go wrong. 
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                  3)  To create a line of play that appears to be advantageous for the Declarer but, in 

reality, actually leads to trouble or the loss of an extra trick for the Declarer. 
 

                            a)  When playing in a No-Trump contract, Declarer plays the Ace and, if East follows 

with the 3 , Declarer has no other choice but to continue with King and then with the Queen, hoping to 

pick up the entire suit.                   AKQ954                   If, however, East were to, alternatively, follow 

                                             72                        J103     to the first trick with the 10 or the Jack, 

                                                           86           Declarer now has a chance to go wrong. He/she may think 

Restricted Choice applies and play East for a singleton and go to his/her hand in order to finesse the 9 in 

the Dummy.   
 

                           b)  Declarer, with a 4-4 fit in the Trump suit, lays down the Ace. If both Defenders 

follow low, Declarer will go to the Queen, guarding against J963 in East (He/she cannot pick up the 

J963 if it were in the West). It works and Declarer picks up the entire suit.    

                                    Q842  

                            5                  J963      But, what happens if East plays the 9 at trick #1? 

                                   AK107           Now, Declarer can pick up J963 in West’s hand and that looks like 

a likely holding after East first follows with the 9.   Declarer often will then lay down the King at trick 

#2 – setting up East’s Jack for a trick.   By first playing the 9, East cannot lose, and, often, will gain.     
 

B. False-Carding By the Declarer 
 

     Declarer holds an advantage over the Defenders when false-carding (making a “deceptive play”) 

since Declarer can elect to play his/her cards in any order he/she desires without fear of misleading 

Partner, since the Dummy is not an active participant in the play of the hand .  To be most effective, 

however, a Declarer must find out about the Opponent’s signaling methods, whether “standard,” 

“odd-even.” or “upside-down,” and plan his/her play accordingly, including cards to follow suit with 

or to win with, before playing to trick #1. 

     Uses For False-Carding By Declarer 
 

 

                   1)  To confuse the Defenders as to the distribution of the suits. 
 

                          a)   Declarer did not lead the Queen (as most Declarers would) hoping for KX onsides 

or a foolish cover from three or four to the King. 

                                  A3  

                          K              86542           Instead Declarer made the deceptive lead of the 9.    

                              QJ1097             When the King was played by West, Declarer reasoned that no one 

would play the King over the 9 unless it was a singleton and was forced to do so.   As a result, after 

winning the Ace, Declarer finessed the 7 on the way back, picking up the entire suit. 
  

                   2)  To confuse the Defenders as to high card placement and strength. 
 

                           a)  In a Suit contract West leads the 2 of an un-bid suit. What card should Declarer 

play?                              KQ843                              Declarer knows that the lead is almost  

                                2                     A765      certainly a singleton.  He/she must do his/her  

                                        J109                 best to make East think that the Declarer has the singleton, not 

West, and that the lead was from three cards to the Jack.   After playing the King from the Dummy 

and, after the Ace is played by East, Declarer must follow with the 10, not the Jack or the 9.   By 

doing this, Declarer is attempting to make it look as if West were leading from J92, a not unlikely 

possibility. West would have led the Jack from J102 or the Ten from 1092. 
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                           b)  When your Opponent’s lead a suit and you intend to win the trick, play in such a 

way that creates the most doubt about the honors you actually hold. When holding multiple cards in 

sequence, false-card by taking the trick with the highest card in sequence, not the lowest.  

                                        964  

                        A1053                 J72         On the lead of the 3, holding the KQX in a suit led against a  

                                       KQ8             No-Trump contract, if your RHO plays the Jack, win the trick 

with the King, not the Queen.    Playing the King hides the location of the Queen, which from the 

Leader’s point of view, could be in his/her Partner’s hand (with QJX, for example, Partner’s correct 

play would have been the Jack.)    Also, if you play the Queen, you reveal the King, since the 3
rd

 hand 

Opponent with the KJ would have played the King, not the Jack. 

 

                            c)  When you, as Declarer, lead a suit from your hand, play your cards in such a way 

so as to obscure your true cards. Suppose your Trump holding is KQJTX opposite XXX in the 

Dummy and you wish to draw 2-rounds of Trump before relinquishing the lead. 

                        854  

            A96               72       Play the Queen, not the King!  If your left-hand Opponent holds the 

                            KQJ103      Ace, he/she might hold-up one time fearing that playing it on the first 

round of Trump might find Partner with a singleton King.    If you play the King first, the Ace will 

almost assuredly be played by one of the Opponents. 

 

                    3)  To make it hard for the Defenders to read encouragement, discouragement, 

and/or length signals from each other, false-card with a high spot-card to encourage a 

continuation, otherwise play low, if you are hoping for a switch. 
 

                           a)  West leads the Ace of the suit shown, presumably from an AK combination.                            

                                      964                    Declarer would like him/her to continue with the King so 

                        AK75                J103     as to promote his/her Queen.   Assuming that East plays the 3 

                                      Q82           so as to discourage a continuation of the suit (standard signaling), 

Declarer should conceal the 2 and play the 8.   As a result, West might think that East has Q32 and is 

encouraging a continuation.   

 

                           b)  Generally speaking, when you, as Declarer, take an early discard, it is customarily 

in a suit in which you have some losers.   Such a discard will often encourage a switch to that suit as 

soon as the Opponents regain the lead.   The deceptive play is, therefore, to “sluff” from the suit that 

you, As Declarer, actually desire the Opponents to lead.   

 

                    4)  To steer the Defenders into the suit you want led.  
 

                           a)  If you, as Declarer, desire the Opponents to break the Trump suit for you in order 

to remove the guess for a missing Queen of Trump, for example, try to give the impression that you 

are attempting to ruff a loser.  With AX opposite XX in a side suit, and no way to escape the loser, 

cash the Ace and put your Opponent’s on lead by playing the suit once again.   If a Trump is returned 

by the Defenders in order to “cut down the ruffing power,” you will have no further guess in the 

Trump suit. If, alternatively, a Trump is not returned, by the Defender who wins the trick, you, as 

Declarer, might infer that the Opponent on lead is trying to protect something of value in the Trump 

suit, such as the Queen. You win, or you win! 
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