
Lesson 3
How to find a Major Suit Fit after Partner opens 1NT, Part II: Jacoby 

Transfers
Takeout doubles

Choosing an Opening Lead
Defensive Attitude Signals

Finesses (part II)



Review of Stayman

• After 1NT opening, 2 ♣ asks for a 4-card major
• Must have at least 8 points to use
• Opener bids a 4 card major, or 2 ♦ if none.
• Follow-ups use the information gained to invite or place the contract



Jacoby Transfers

• This convention, like Stayman, is also about trying to find a major suit fit 
after partner opens 1NT

• Popular, easy, right-sides the contract
• It is used when responder has a 5 card or longer major
• It has no minimum point count
• Responder bids the suit just UNDER his 5+ card major
• Opener is commanded to bid the major suit
• Responder then follows up by passing, inviting, or bidding game
• Opener can correct as needed
• Opener must “Announce” this convention when it occurs



Opener Responder
1NT 2♦1

2♥2

(1) “I have 5 or more ♥s. Please bid 2♥s for now and I’ll tell  you 
more on my next turn.”
(2) “OK.”

Opener Responder
1NT 2♥1

2♠2

(1) “I have 5 or more ♠s. Please bid 2♠s for now and I’ll tell  you 
more on my next turn.”
(2) “OK.”



• When responder bids 2♦ or 2♠, opener must say “Transfer”.
• Responder may not do so. 

• Why? 
• What happens if opener forgets?



What’s the point?

The biggest reason is you want the strong hand to be hidden, and the 
weak hand to be Dummy.
Forcing opener to be the one who first speaks the name of the major 
accomplishes this
Why is this important?
Not only are most of the partnerships ‘assets’ hidden from the 
opponents, and thus harder to attack, the important opening lead will 
be made with the strong hand playing last, and not second. Recall from 
the previous topic that this provides a better chance to capture 
opponent’s honors rather than having yours captured



Followups:

• After opener ‘completes the transfer’, responder must do some math. 
How many high card points do they have combined? Do they have a 
golden fit in the Major?



With 6+ cards in the Major:

• you are guaranteed an 8 card fit (opener cannot have a singleton to bid 
1NT, therefore he has at least 2 in your major suit, therefore you have at 
least an 8 card fit.

• Therefore you will be playing in that major suit, the only question is at the 
game level or partscore

• With 10+ points, bid game in the major (15+10=25)
• With 8-9 points, invite game by raising the major to 3 (8+15=23, 8+17=25).
• With 7 or fewer, pass (17+7=24)

• You do not need to memorize these numbers… simple addition will tell you what to 
bid

• Can give yourself extra points for good distribution—a topic for another day!





With 5 cards only in the Major

• Since opener may only have 2, simple addition will tell you you might not 
have a Golden Fit of 8 cards.

• Therefore next bid No Trump, either invite with 8-9 points or at the game 
level with 10 or more points

• Partner now knows you have exactly 5 of the major (because if you had 6, 
you wouldn’t have gone back to No Trump)

• If partner only has 2 of the major, he’ll keep in in No Trump, and will accept 
your invitation if he has a maximum (good 16 or 17)

• If partner has 3 or more of the major, he’ll correct the contract to the 
major, and decide whether to accept your invitation if you made one

• BUT if responder has a very weak hand (fewer than 8 points), he must not 
invite, but will pass after the transfer. This may leave the pair in only a 7 
card fit, but this may still be better than passing 1NT.







Special Considerations

• If responder has 5-4 or more in the majors, he starts with Stayman 
and then if opener doesn’t have a 4-card major, responder then bids 
his 5-card major, to give opener another chance (if he has only 3 of 
that major)

• This will wrong-side the contract, but that isn’t the end of the world
• There is a more advanced convention called “Smollen”…here 

responder bids the 4 card major instead of the 5 card major, so that if 
opener has 3 cards in the 5 card major, he bids it and the contract is 
right-sided. This is entirely optional… and can lead to forgetting and 
mistakes!



Defense Tip:

• You can double an artificial bid (such as 2♣ Stayman or a transfer bid) 
“for the lead”.)

• But beware! Opponents may stop bidding and leave the contract 
there, which might be a good score for them



Extensions of transfers and Stayman

• NOT for now, but…

• If partnership opens 1NT with a 5-card major, “Puppet Stayman” can 
be used to find 8-card major fit

• Transfers can also be done at the 4-level (“Texas transfers”)
• Stayman can be used after a bidding sequence such as 1♣-p-2NT-p-? 

To “checkback” for a Major-suit fit (“checkback Stayman”)
• Transfers can be made into the minor suits!
• Opener can ‘super-accept’ with a maximum and 4 trumps





Play Practice Boards 1-3 – 25 min

• After partner opens 1NT, if you have 5+ card major, bid the suit under 
it

• Partner (opener) must announce “Transfer!”
• Partner must bid the next highest suit
• Now responder will pass (0-7 points), invite (8-9 points), or bid game 

(10+ points). With 6 of the major, responder will keep in the major, 
with only 5 he’ll go back to No Trump

• If opener has a fit, she’ll go back to the major.
• Opener will accept invitation with a good 16 or 17 points













Summary
• Jacoby transfers right-side the contract, and allow the pair time to 

exchange details about their hand (strength, if they have a major suit 
fit).

• Again no memorization is needed, only simple addition. But you do 
have to remember that after 1NT, 2♦ or 2♥ is a transfer, not a real 
bid in that suit. And announce it!

• You have now learned the most difficult and useful of the common 
conventions!



1NT Overcall

• Very similar to opening 1NT, except promises a stopper in opponents’ 
suit(s)

• A stopper is an Ace, or a protected honor
• Exact range is “partnership agreement”, often 16-18 HCPs
• Stayman and Jacoby apply!



Examples

• right hand opponent opens 1♥
• You hold:
♠KQJ ♥A2 ♦J1082 ♣AQ32
Overcall: ?

You hold:
♠KQ65 ♥52 ♦AK82 ♣A73
Bid: ?



• opponents bid 1♥ and 1♠
• You hold:
♠KQJ2 ♥2 ♦A1082 ♣AQ32
Bid:?



Takeout doubles

• Traditionally, doubles were ‘business’ (i.e. to earn a bigger penalty for 
setting opponents contract)

• With better bidding methods, it was found this wasn’t very useful 
against low-level contracts

• Instead, it has taken on a new (conventional) meaning: TAKE OUT this 
double, partner!

• In other words, I have the other (unbid) suits, please pick one
• Requires about an opening hand
• Is an alternative to an overcall, which requires a 5-card suit
• Goal is to find an 8-card fit



Examples:

• right hand opponent opens 1♥
• You hold:
♠KQJ2 ♥2 ♦J1082 ♣AQ32
Bid: X

You hold:
♠K2 ♥AQ2 ♦J1082 ♣K732
Bid: Pass



• Can also make after both opponents bid a suit



• Or after partner and opponent(s) bid suits
• Same idea but different name:

• ‘Negative, partner, I don’t have any of the suits that have been bid)’
• It implies perhaps partner consider picking one of the unbid suits, as 

those are the suits you have
• Since partner bid, it only requires about 6 points to make at the one 

level, and 10 at the 2 level





Responding to Takeout Double

• You are expected to take out the double, even with zero points, unless you think 
you can defeat the contract (usually because you don’t have a 4-card suit and you 
have a “trump stack”

• You generally bid your longest suit, but preferring a Major
• If you don’t even have a 4 card suit to bid, consider NT if you have stoppers in any 

suits the opponents bid
• 0-9 points (minimum): bid your longest suit or NT at the lowest available level
• 10-12 points (invitational): jump a level
• 13+ points (game-going): bid game

• HOWEVER if opponents bid before you have a chance to respond, pass with a 
rock-bottom (0-6 points)



Examples

North East South West
1♠ X Pass ?

• You hold: ♠K2 ♥QJ252 ♦J82 ♣AQ2
• Bid: 4♥
• You hold: ♠652 ♥J752 ♦J832 ♣QJ32
• Bid: 2♣
• You hold: ♠KQ2 ♥J102 ♦J832 ♣J932
• Bid: 1NT or 2♣



Takeout doubler’s rebids

• Usually none. You’ve told your story, and using that information, 
partner has bid as high as is prudent

• Exception: with 17+ points, the takeout doubler is allowed to “double 
and originate”, even without the right shape for takeout double

• This tells partner doubler was too strong to make an overcall (6-16 
points).

• Partner of the doubler continues bidding naturally with this new 
information





Redouble

• While once used “for business”, now usually has a special meaning: 
• “I have 10 points”
• Usually means no fit for partner’s suit
• Implies a willingness to try to penalize whatever suit opponents 

choose



Summary
• Takeout and negative doubles are other examples of conventions: the 

bid doesn’t mean what it literally says (you don’t want to penalize 
opponent’s contract or play in a redoubled contract). Rather it gives 
partner information about the strength and shape of your hand

• Takout double: short in opponent’s suit(s) and at least 4-4 in the 
unbid suit(s); an opening count. Prefer to overcall the suit with 5, 
especially if it’s a Major

• Double and originate means 17+ points and not necessarily the shape 
of a normal takeout double

• Redouble means 10+ points and implies no fit
• Rebids are natural: bidder uses the information to sign off in part 

score or game or invite



Practice Board 4





10 min. coffee break

• Coming up:
• Choosing an Opening Lead
• Attitude Signals
• Finesses (part II)



Cardplay Part 2

• Choosing an Opening Lead
• Attitude Signals
• Finesses (part II)



Opening Lead

• Can make the difference between defeating the contract or not
• Can give your partner clues about your hand
• Not always a right answer; still a subject under study
• Listening to the bidding and using logic can help



What we know from previous cardplay
concepts

• We want to promote our side’s cards into winners
• We want to be the last to play our tenaces so we can capture 

opponent’s high cards
• Thus we do not want to play first from a tenace (unless partner holds 

the missing honors, in which it’s really a sequence held between 2 
hands, not a tenace)

• Playing from a sequence will promote our cards and not give away 
any tricks



Therefore….

• Playing the suit that partner bid is often right
• He likely has high cards in that suit to bid it (why?)
• He will be 3rd to play and may capture high cards played from Dummy
• Even if he has a tenace under declarer, this doesn’t lose anything and 

his other high cards will be promoted
• Even if it doesn’t go well, you will not be to blame!
• But if you don’t, and it doesn’t go well, you’ll never hear the end of it
• Promotes partnership harmony



If partner didn’t bid a suit…

• Playing an unbid suit is often right
• Playing top of a sequence is often best
• Helps promote cards in that suit, doesn’t give away tricks
• Tells your partner what you have: denies the higher cards, promises 

the next lower card
• Doesn’t give declarer much useful information: he knows he doesn’t 

have those cards, doesn’t matter which opponent has them as he has 
no tenace to play toward

• In NT, top of 3-card sequence, in suit, top of 2-card sequence



If you don’t have a sequence and partner 
didn’t bid a suit
• Avoid leading away from a tenace
• Avoid underleading an unsupported Ace or King
• Underleading an unsupported Queen or Jack is not as bad but not 

great
• A singleton is a good choice in a trump contract
• A doubleton can sometimes work in a trump contract (high-low)
• Top of nothing
• 4th best



Against a slam

• An unsupported Ace is usually not a good choice, but against a slam, 
it is reasonable.

• While it may cost a trick, the opponents are very strong, and if you 
don’t take it, you may ‘go to bed with it’

• Depends on scoring method



Leading a trump

• When any other lead is too dangerous
• When you think declarer is going to trump losers (they have made a 

sacrifice bid, when they had trouble finding a fit, when partner has 
doubled for penalty and likely has a trump stack)



Against No Trump

• Somewhat different. Goal is to find a long suit between you and 
partner

• Top of a sequence is still good, but should be a 3-card sequence (vs. 2 
in trump) (why?)

• Traditional rule is “4th best from your longest and strongest” suit
• While this is not wrong, some logic and deduction may produce 

better leads
• If opponents don’t seem to have many of the major suits, a major suit 

lead may be best
• The unbid suit may be good
• Leading away from a tenace is still undesirable



Examples

• North East South West
• 1♠ Pass 2♣ Pass
• 2♠ Pass 4♠ All Pass

• You hold: ♠K2 ♥QJ252 ♦J82 ♣AQ2
• You hold: ♠K2 ♥Q ♦8752 ♣AQ2
• You hold: ♠52 ♥AQ ♦KJ42 ♣AQ2
• You hold: ♠K2 ♥Q54 ♦8752 ♣AQ2



• North East South West
• 1NT Pass 3NT All Pass

• You hold: ♠K2 ♥QJ252 ♦J82 ♣AQ2
• You hold: ♠8532 ♥Q23 ♦8752 ♣AQ2
• You hold: ♠52 ♥AQ ♦KQJ42 ♣AQ2
• You hold: ♠102 ♥92 ♦857532 ♣982



Summary

• Against NT, you are trying to find your side’s longest combined suit so you 
can keep playing on it and promote small cards in that suit into winners

• In either NT or suit, top of a sequence or partner’s suit are good, and 
leading or underleading an unsupported honor or leading away from a 
tenace are not so good

• Against a suit contract, a singleton is good if you don’t have a natural 
trump trick. Top of doubleton is less promising but sometimes an option.

• Leading a trump can be good if you think opps are sacrificing, or when 
opps had trouble finding a fit (they may need to ruff)

• Leading an Ace against a slam might be good



Other considerations

• Try to estimate how many HCPs partner has.
• Opponents bid game? They have about 26 points
• Opponents stopped at 2 or 3? They have about 23 points
• Opponents stopped at 1? They have about 21 points.
• (Rule of 19, 17, 14)
• You then subtract your points to see how many partner has
• If he cannot have any high cards, this may affect what you lead, plus 

as you see partner play honors you can know how many he has left



Defensive Signals (“Carding”)

• Signals on defense are ways of playing cards which don’t affect trick-taking, 
which give partner more information about your hand

• Like the agreed meaning of bids, the agreed meaning of signals must be 
disclosed to opponents

• Signals also give declarer information and sometimes are not deliberately 
not used (“falsecarding”) if the information won’t help partner and may 
help declarer

• Like bidding, there are ‘standard’ signals and many variations
• Leading from top of a sequence, top of nothing, and low from an honor (4th

best) are examples of signals. Also third hand plays lowest in a sequence if 
trying to win the trick

• Attitude signals are the next most common, and very easy and useful



What are attitude signals?

• Played on partner’s opening lead (assuming you aren’t trying to win 
the trick) and your first discard

• A high spot card indicates you would like the suit led again
• A low card indicates you would NOT like the suit led again
• Partner is not required to obey the signal (it is information, not an 

order), but she should take the information into account









Finesses (part II)

• Recall to win as many tricks as possible with honors not in sequence, 
you should lead from the weaker holding toward the stronger

• You can finesse against 2 missing honors (double and combination 
finesses)

• If one loses, try again
• There is a 75% chance at least one finesse will work



If West now plays the nine, your first impulse may be to try 
to encircle only the King, and finesse Dummy's Queen.
However, this would be an unfortunate choice, as it would 
eliminate any chance you might have of making 3 heart 
tricks.
For if the Queen is played and holds, the King and Jack are 
still left outstanding, one of which must win a trick.
The logical objection to this line of play is that it really 
stands very little chance of success. The probabilities are 
that at least one of the missing honors (King or Jack) is 
located on your right. However, you must not forget the
definition of a finesse.
A finesse, you recall, is not a gamble—that is,

you do not risk something to make something more.
You risk nothing. You merely play to get something half the 
time which you would otherwise not get at all!



You play low to your Ten (not the Ace), not with any 
expectation that the Ten will win, but in order to establish 
a future finesse.
Here West wins the Ten with his
Queen, but your Jack has now been promoted one 
position
Now you have a simple finesse position against the King
If the missing honors are split between both opponents, 
then you will win 2 tricks
If West has both honors you will win one trick
If East has both honors you will win 2 tricks
75% of the time your win 2 tricks
If you simply plunk down the Ace, you will win 2 tricks 0% 
of the time
So it is not gambling, since you can only win and cannot 
lose compared to not finessing



Finessing against honors lower than the King



Your only hope of winning 2 tricks is to 
lead low to the 10 or Jack. If the Queen 
is in West, you will win 2 tricks by 
repeating the finesse. If the queen is in 
East, you will only win one (which is 
how many you would win if you played 
them from the top).









Postponed finesse



When Not To Finesse

You have 11 cards, therefore opponents have 2
By refusing to finesse, the King may drop (if the cards are split 1-2)
Mathematics has worked out that this will happen slightly more than 50% of the time
Therefore to “play for the drop” is better than finessing.

(when you hold two top honors in 
a suit, it is always better to lay 
down one of them on the
first round, so that if the missing 
honor happens to be a singleton, 
it will drop—even when a finesse 
is indicated as the best play on 
the second round.)





Summary

• When missing multiple touching honors, finesse against them 
repeatedly

• With more than one gap, finesse against the lowest first
• Lead an honor when finessing only when it will promote touching 

cards
• Do not finesse if it is more likely the missing honors will drop



Practice Hands (2)







Summary

• Jacoby transfers and Stayman come up frequently after 1NT opening
• They are used to find a major suit fit
• A takeout double can help your side find a fit once opponents have 

opened the bidding. A 1NT overcall also tells your partner a lot about 
your hand

• You can finesse twice when multiple cards are missing—finesse 
against the lower missing card when there are 2 gaps

• Don’t finesse when the missing honor will drop
• Do not go to sleep when on defense. A good opening lead and smart 

signals can make the difference between winning and losing



Thank you!
• Congratulations! In 3 lessons, you have gone from zero to somewhat 

sophisticated bidding and play! 
• Plan is by the 6th lesson you will know most of the useful standard bidding 

conventions and have been exposed to all elements of basic cardplay—a 
level typical of about 1 year of playing.

• BUT—you have ‘been exposed’ to these concepts, you must play to master 
them, or practice at home (e.g. on computer)

• Free play now, or at 4pm on Tuesday for 2h (RSVP) or Toronto Bridge
• No lesson next week (Thanksgiving)
• Lesson 4 in 2 weeks: pre-emptive bids, Blackwood (ace-asking), strong 2 

club opening, entries, establishing a suit at No Trump. 
• Please sign-up on sheet or email harthousebridgeclub@gmail.com

mailto:harthousebridgeclub@gmail.com
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