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Exceptions to Third Hand High and Second Hand Low 
Based on Eddie Kantar Teaches Modern Bridge Defense 

Prepared by John Blankinship 
 

REASONS NOT TO PLAY THIRD HAND HIGH 
 

  6 4 3  
 Q 7   A J 8 5 

  K 10 9 2  
 
You have bid spades and partner leads the queen against a suit or notrump contract.  Partner 
probably has a doubleton, leaving declarer with a likely K109x.  You should play low.  If you 
take the ace and return the suit, declarer can insert the ten and later lead low to the nine, limiting 
your side to one spade trick.  But if you play low at trick one, you are sure to get two tricks. 

 
  K J 2  

 10 7 6 3   Q 9 4 
  A 8 5  

 
Against a suit contract, partner leads a low spade, dummy plays low, and you have to assume 
that declarer has the ace (partner should not be underleading an ace on opening lead versus a suit 
contract).  If so, it is better to stick in the nine, saving the queen over dummy's jack.  If partner is 
leading from the ten (she did lead low, usually from an honor), the nine will drive out the ace. 
 

  K 10 3  
 Q 9 6 2   J 8 4 

  A 7 5  
 
Against a suit contract, partner leads the 2, dummy plays low, and there is no point in playing 
the jack.  Declarer (almost certainly) has the ace and if you play the jack, declarer will win and 
later finesse the ten to get three spade tricks.  A better play is the 8.  If partner led from the 
Q9x(x), the eight forces the ace and declarer is held to two spade tricks. 
 

  A 10 3  
 K 7 6 2   J 8 4 

  Q 9 5  
 

Against a suit contract, partner leads a low spade, dummy plays low, and you (East) should play 
the eight.  Why?  Partner (almost certainly) does not have the KQx(x), because the king would 
be the normal lead against a suit contract.  Therefore, declarer has a spade honor.  No matter 
which honor declarer has, it is better to play the eight, saving the jack over dummy's ten.  If East 
plays the jack, declarer can get three spade tricks, but only two if the eight is played. 
 
• When declarer is known to have all the missing honors 
 

  K J 10 9  
 7 3   Q 8 6 5 2 

  A 4  
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Against a suit contract, partner leads the 7 and dummy plays the enticing jack.  Don't go for 
it!  Play low.  Declarer (almost certainly) has the ace and it may be doubleton.  Why give 
declarer four spade tricks when she is only entitled to two or three. 

 
• When partner leads from a known doubleton against a suit contract and you have the 

ace but no outside entry, signal encouragement — don't play the ace 
 

 

 J 9 7 2 
 K Q 10 5 
 2 
 K Q 4 3 

 

 K 4 3 
 9 6 
 A 8 7 6 
 10 8 6 2 

 

 6 5 
  A 7 4 2 
 J 9 5 4 3 
 9 7 

 

 A Q 10 8 
 J 8 3 
 K Q 10 
 A J 5 

 

 
South opens the bidding with 1NT, North responds 2  Stayman, South bids 2 , and North 
bids 4 .  Partner (West) leads the 9, which figures to be the top of a doubleton; it can't be a 
singleton because South's bid of 2  denies four hearts.  You (East) should signal 
encouragement with the 7 (standard carding) and allow declarer to win the first trick.  
When partner gets in with the K, she can return her remaining heart to your ace, and your 
heart return allows partner to ruff.  The A is the setting trick. 

 
• When you have to retain a high honor to prevent declarer getting to the dummy and 

running an established suit 
 

 

 J 10 4 
 7 3 
 7 6 5 
 K Q J 10 9 

 

 K 9 6 3 
 Q J 
 J 9 4 2 
 6 5 2 

 

 Q 7 2 
  10 9 6 5 2 
 10 3 
 A 8 7 

 

 A 8 5 
 A K 8 4 
 A K Q 8 
 4 3 

 

 
Against a 3NT contract, partner (West) leads the 3 and dummy plays the J.  You (East) 
should play low to keep declarer from getting to dummy to cash her established club suit. 

 
REASONS TO PLAY SECOND HAND HIGH 
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• To kill a long suit in dummy 
 

 

 7 2 
 7 4 3 
 A K 10 9 4 
 6 5 4 

 

 K Q J 9 4 
 K 2 
 Q 7 
 10 8 3 2 

 

 10 6 3 
  10 8 6 5 
 J 8 6 2 
 9 7 

 

 A 8 5 
 A Q J 9 
 5 3 
 A K Q J 

 

 
Against a 3NT contract, you (West) lead the K, partner playing low (standard carding) 
denying the jack or ace.  Declarer also plays low.  You continue spades, and declarer wins 
the third spade.  When declarer now leads a low diamond, play the queen!  If you play low, 
declarer sticks in the nine, partner wins the jack, and returns a heart.  Declarer takes the ace, 
leads a second diamond, your queen falls, and declarer has ten tricks. 

 
However, if you play the queen on the first diamond lead, dummy cannot duck lest you take 
the setting tricks in spades.  If dummy wins and a heart finesse is taken, you win and cash 
your winning spades.  Or, if dummy takes your Q, crosses to a club, and takes a second 
diamond finesse, it's even worse.  Partner wins and returns a heart or a club.  Down two.  

 
• To preserve an entry to partner's hand 
 

 

 7 5 4 
 A K Q 
 7 5 
 Q J 10 9 3 

 

 Q J 10 8 3 2 
 5 4 
 10 3 2 
 A 5 

 

 9 6 
  J 9 7 3 
 J 9 8 4 
 K 7 6 

 

 A K 
 10 8 6 2 
 A K Q 6 
 8 4 2 

 

 
Partner (West) opens a weak 2  bid (showing a 6-card suit), and South ends up in a 3NT 
contract.  Declarer wins the Q opening lead with the king, crosses to dummy with a heart, 
and shrewdly leads the Q.  You (East) should go up with the king!  If declarer has the A, 
you are doomed anyway, so you have to play partner for that card.  And if partner has the    

A, you have to be the one that wins the first club, so that you can continue a spade, 
establishing the suit for your partner.  When partner gets in with the A, her spades are 
ready to go.  However, if you duck the first round of clubs and partner wins the first club and 
establishes spades, you won't have a spade to return when you get in with the K. 
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• To get partner off an endplay 
 

 

 Q 10 9 4 
 8 6 
 A K 2 
 5 4 3 2 

 

 J 5 
 A 10 9 2 
 Q J 9 8 
 A Q 10 

 

 6 3 
  7 5 4 3 
 10 7 5 4 
 J 7 6 

 

 A K 8 7 2 
 K Q J 
 6 3 
 K 9 8 

 

 
Against a 4  contract, partner (West) leads the Q, taken by the ace in dummy as you (East) 
signal with the 7 (standard carding) showing an equal honor.  Declarer draws trump in two 
rounds, loses a heart to partner's ace, takes her diamond and heart winners, and enters 
dummy with a trump to lead a low club.  Do you play second hand low?  No!  You need 
three club tricks to defeat the contract and partner must have the AQ10.  If so, you must 
play the J to prevent declarer from ducking the trick into partner and endplaying her. 

 
• When larceny is on declarer's mind 
 

 

 8 7 
 J 10 9 2 
 A Q J 4 
 Q 6 2 

 

 A Q 9 6 3 
 8 5 3 
 7 5 2 
 8 4 

 

 J 10 4 
  A 7 6 
 9 3 
 J 10 7 5 3 

 

 K 5 2 
 K Q 4 
 K 10 8 6 
 A K 9 

 

 
Against a 3NT contract, partner (West) leads her fourth-best 6, you (East) play the ten and 
declarer wins the king.  Declarer crosses to dummy with a diamond, and leads the J, faking 
a finesse.  What should you do?  You should rise with the ace and return the J!  The 
bidding (1NT - 2  - 3  - 3NT) tells you that partner has at least five spades and the Rule of 
Eleven tells you that declarer started with exactly one spade above the six, which must be the 
king.  Declarer is trying to sneak a ninth trick past you! 


