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Discards - sending a message to partner 
 
The purpose of a discard system is to try and alert your partner to where you think the 
defence should be trying to target its attack. 
 
You could adopt a simple approach of throwing a low card from a poor suit, and a high 
card from a good suit, but sometimes this can cause as much damage to your hand as it 
does good, so an alternative approach is to try to use a ‘side suit’ to indicate your 
preference.  
 
With most discard systems, you are suggesting a suit [very rarely the Trump suit if 
defending a Trump Contract] that should be led when the opportunity arises. You do this 
by throwing / discarding a specific card. 
 
There are a variety of discard systems in use. We will consider the original method in 
detail, known as attitude or natural discards. The methodology is similar to the signaling 
concept when following to partner’s lead: a high card encourages the suit, and a low 
card discourages it. At the end I will cover a few other methods. 
 

 
When you are forced to make a discard, a high card is an encouragement to partner to 

lead that suit. Conversely a small one discourages a lead of that suit. 
 

 
 
  ♥ 6 5 
    ♥ K 10 8 4 3 
 
Suppose you are East here (though the same system applies to both defenders) and 
that declarer has led some other suit of which you are void. If you want to encourage ♥s, 
you discard the eight or, if you think you can afford it, the ten. If you wish to discourage 
♥s (perhaps you have an ace-queen over dummy’s king in another suit), you throw the 
three. 
 
  ♥ Q 10 
♥ K J 9 7    ♥ A 5 4 3 2 
  ♥ 8 6 
 
High and low are relative terms. From a holding of A-5-4-3-2, the play of the five is a 
high card. The partner should work this out by noticing that the two, three and four are all 
missing. So, unless declarer holds all three of those cards, your five is high. 
 

 
To encourage, discard the highest spot card that you can afford. 
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  ♥ Q 10 
♥ K J 5 4 2    ♥ 9 8 7 6 
  ♥ A 3 
 
Similarly, the discard of the six from 9-8-7-6 is a low and hence discouraging card. This 
signal is slightly harder to read. Your partner has to work out that, with the nine, eight 
and seven all missing, you would have spared a higher card to encourage. 
 
 

 
When you want to discourage, discard your lowest card. 

 

 
  ♦ Q 7 
♦6 5 2     ♦ K J 9 8 3 
  ♦A 10 4 
 
The next step is deciding how strong a holding you need to justify signaling 
encouragement, with the king-jack over dummy’s queen, a ♦ switch is likely to be 
productive and normally you will discard an encouraging ♦9.  
 
  ♦ Q 7 
♦J 5 2     ♦K 10 8 6 3 
  ♦A 9 4 
 
Now you cannot be so sure that a ♦ switch will get you anywhere because declarer might 
have the ace and jack. Even so, it is still normally right to ask for this suit, which you do 
by discarding the eight. If, as in the diagram, partner has the jack, a switch through 
dummy will set up a trick (or two if dummy is short of trumps). Note that you cannot 
discard the ten. With the ten gone, the suit would be frozen (a ‘frozen’ suit is one that 
neither side can lead without setting up a trick for the other side). 
 
  ♦ Q 7 
♦J 5 2     ♦ K 9 8 6 3 
  ♦ A 10 4 
 
Having weakened your holding further, it is risky to ask for ♦s. If, as shown, your partner 
has the jack without the ten, it is better for your side not to open up the suit. If dummy 
plays low, you will have to put up the king to stop the ten from scoring and then the 
queen will be good on the second round. Unfortunately, it would also be risky to 
discourage ♦s by discarding the three. Partner might have the ace or both the jack and 
ten and want to know whether you have the king. If you can spare a card in some other 
suit, it might be better to discard a card from that other suit. Partner may be able to work 
out that your failure to discard a ♦ means you have the sort of holding with which you do 
not know whether you want the suit led. 
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  ♦J 7 
♦ Q 10 2    ♦ K 9 8 6 3 
  ♦ A 5 4 
 
When dummy has a jack-high suit or no picture cards in it at all, you need less strength 
yourself for it to be reasonably safe to ask for the suit. Many holdings that include either 
the ace or the king will suffice for it to be a sensible suit for partner to lead. If declarer 
has the ace-queen over your king, the finesse was right anyway. Discarding the nine is 
normally fine with this East holding. 
West East 
  ♦J 7 
♦A 10 2    ♦ Q 9 8 6 3 
  ♦K 5 4 
 
Holding the queen, you cannot be sure whether it is a good idea to have the suit led. If 
partner has the king, a switch to the suit will set up a winner for later. When, as shown 
above, declarer has the king, your side does best to leave the suit alone. 
 
Example 1: 
 
In a contract of 4♠, by South, partner leads a trump. Declarer wins and plays another 
trump. What do you discard? 
 
    ♠ 9753 
    ♥ 973 
    ♦ KJ3 
    ♣ KJ3 
      ♠ 2 
      ♥ 86 
      ♦ AQ1082 
      ♣ 109752 
 
When partner gets the lead, you want him to lead ♦s so you discard the ♦8. 
 
Example 2: 
 
In a contract of 4♠, by South, partner leads a trump. Declarer wins and plays another 
trump. What do you discard? 
 
    ♠ 9753 
    ♥ 973 
    ♦ KJ3 
    ♣ KJ3 
      ♠ 2 
      ♥ 642 
      ♦ AQ32 
      ♣ 109752 
 
When partner gets the lead, you want him to lead ♦s but your highest ♦ that you can afford 
to discard is the 3. This probably wouldn't persuade partner to lead a ♦ unless you had a 
second discard when you could discard the ♦2. The best discard would be the ♣2. This 
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certainly would deter partner from leading a ♣. Partner would now have to decide whether 
to lead a ♥ or a ♦. He may be able to work out that a ♦ is required from other information 
available to him (for example: bidding, his own holding, or the play of suits by declarer etc). 
 
Example 3: Board 1, Dealer N. Both NV 
 

You are West; North opens 1♦, South responds 1NT and North raises to 3NT. 

 
  ♠ A K 3 
  ♥ K 7 
  ♦ A Q J 9 6 5 
  ♣ 9 4 
♠ J 8 2 
♥ Q J 9 8 4 
♦ 4 
♣ A J 10 5 
 
 
You lead the queen of ♥s, which the king wins. Declarer comes to hand with the queen 
of ♠s and leads the ten of ♦s. This holds the trick (East should be in no hurry to win with 
the king, win the 2nd round after seeing partner’s discard) and a second round of ♦s 
follows. What do you discard?  
 
You have a good ♥ suit, it is true, but your lead of the queen already showed that. In any 
case, you know (though partner may not) that declarer has the ace left and so can still 
stop the suit. With all those winners in dummy, the only hope is that your partner can get 
in with the king of ♦s and that your side runs four ♣ tricks. You must make a choice. Do 
you discard a low ♥ to discourage ♥s or do you discard a high ♣ to encourage ♣s? Since 
you do not expect to make any more ♥ tricks, you can spare any ♥. Can you say the 
same about the jack of ♣s? If partner has four ♣s to the king, then you can spare a ♣. If, 
however, partner has only three ♣s, you must hang on to all your ♣s You cannot 
possibly take four ♣ tricks if neither you nor your partner still has four ♣s, and South’s 
failure to respond 1♥ or 1♠ makes it likely that this is the case. Accordingly, you should 
discard the four of ♥s. This is the full deal: 
 
  ♠ A K 3 
  ♥ K 7 
  ♦ A Q J 9 6 5 
  ♣ 9 4 
♠ J 8 2     ♠ 10 7 6 4 
♥ Q J 9 8 4    ♥ 10 6 3 
♦ 4     ♦ K 8 3 
♣ A J 10 5    ♣ K 8 2 
  ♠ Q 9 5 
  ♥ A 5 2 
  ♦ 10 7 2 
  ♣ Q 7 6 3 
 
You will win the two of ♣s switch with the ten and continue with the five to partner’s king. 
Another ♣ lead through South’s queen leaves you with the two winners you need to set 
the contract. 



 5 
 

 
Example 4: Board 3, Dealer S, E/W Vul 
♦  ♠ 9 7 5 2 
  ♥ K J 6 
  ♦ K 8 
  ♣ K J 10 2 
    ♠ Q 
    ♥ A Q 9 7 
    ♦ A 10 5 4 
    ♣ 9 8 6 4 
 

You, East, do not get much chance in the bidding because South opens 1♠ and North 

raises to 3♠. South then advances to 4♠.  
 
Partner leads the seven of ♣s, which the king wins, as you play the four and South the 
queen.  
 
On the first round of trumps, South’s ace captures your queen. Then partner wins the 
king on the second round. What do you discard?  
 
This time you might theoretically want any of three suits. If your four of ♣s was an 
encouraging card from A-4-3, it could be right for partner to play a second ♣ to score a 
ruff on the third round. On your actual hand, you want a ♥ and, if you had the ace-queen 
of ♦s, you would want a ♦. Since the ♣ ruff possibility is unlikely (with outside entries you 
would have no need to duck the first ♣), you could try to ask for a ♥ indirectly by 
discouraging ♦s. It is clearer, however, since you have the chance, to ask for ♥s directly. 
You do this by discarding the nine of ♥s. The full deal is: 
 

  ♠ 9 7 5 2 

  ♥ K J 6 
  ♦ K 8 

  ♣ K J 10 2 

♠ K 6 4    ♠ Q 

♥ 8 4 3 2    ♥ A Q 9 7 

♦ 9 7 6 2   ♦ A 10 5 4 

♣ 7 5     ♣ 9 8 6 4 

  ♠ A J 10 8 3 

  ♥ 10 5 

  ♦ Q J 3 

  ♣ A Q 3 
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Example 5: Board 4: Dealer West, Both Vul 
 
Sometimes you need to think about which suit to ask for. Try the East cards here: 
 

  ♠ J 10 5 

  ♥ J 6 

  ♦ A J 8 4 

  ♣ K 9 6 2 

    ♠ Q 9 

    ♥ 7 

    ♦ K 10 7 6 5 

    ♣ A J 8 5 4 

 

Partner, West, opens the bidding with 3♥. Two passes follow and after South reopens 

with 3♠, North raises to 4♠ to end the bidding. Partner leads the king of ♥s, which loses 

to the ace. Declarer cashes the ace of trumps, to which all follow low, and continues with 
a second round to partner’s king. What do you discard on the queen of ♥s, which comes 
next? The king of ♦s sitting over the ace is well placed, as is your ♣ holding with the king 
in dummy. Which suit do you want more? Well, if South has the queen of ♣s a ♣ switch 
may not do you much good. However, a ♦ switch should work well whoever holds the 
queen. 
ES 
True, declarer may hold a singleton ♦, but a singleton ♣ is equally possible. Therefore, 
you want to signal for ♦s. You probably want to keep the ten of ♦s, so you could throw 
the ♦ seven. Alternatively, since partner knows you cannot ruff the third round of ♥s (you 
would not have dropped the queen of ♠s if you could help it), you might achieve the 
same aim by discarding the four of ♣s. 
 

 
The rule is: make an encouraging discard if you can afford to do so – this is generally 

clearer than discouraging another suit. 
 

 
Rather than risk that partner takes the ♣ four as a suggestion for a passive ♥ exit, 
discard the seven of ♦s. This is the full deal: 
 

  ♠ J 10 5 

  ♥ J 6 

  ♦ A J 8 4 

  ♣ K 9 6 2 

♠ K 6     ♠ Q 9 

♥ K Q 10 8 4 3 2   ♥ 7 

♦ 9 2     ♦ K 10 7 6 5 

♣ 10 7     ♣ A J 8 5 4 

  ♠ A 8 7 4 3 2 

  ♥ A 9 5 

  ♦ Q 3 

  ♣ Q 3 
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If partner plays a third round of ♥s or switches to the ten of ♣s, you will not defeat the 
contract against competent opposition. Rather than take the ♦ finesse, declarer will play 
on ♣s, forcing you to win the second round. You will then face the unpleasant choice of 
setting up the nine of ♣s (or the king of ♣s if the nine has gone) or leading into the ♦ 
tenace. 
 
Discarding honours 
 
The discard of any honour promises the honour next below and, for the discard to be safe, 
invariably other strength in the suit. Discarding the jack from AJ10x guarantees the 10. 

 

 
The rule is that you discard the card you would have led, the top card from a sequence 

and the highest touching card from an interior sequence. 
 

 

  ♦ 9 7 

♦ K 5 2    ♦ Q J 10 8 6 

  ♦ A 4 3 

 
As East, you might discard the queen here to show the sequence. In this case, the 
discard does not specifically encourage (or discourage) the suit. West will feel inclined to 
lead the suit when holding the king, as illustrated, but not when holding the ace. Even 
with neither of these cards, it may be reassuring to know that you have the suit wrapped 
up and therefore that it will be safe to discard from it.  
 

  ♦ 9 7 

♦ A Q J 10 6    ♦ 8 5 2 

  ♦ K 4 3 

 
When you are the opening leader and discard the queen, you are more likely to have 
AQJ than QJ10 for the simple reason that with the latter holding you might have led the 
suit initially. 
 
Example 6: Board 8: West dealer, Both NV 
 

For our final example, you are East. Partner deals and opens 3♥. Two passes follow and 

South’s reopening bid of 3♠ ends the auction. Partner leads the ace of ♥s and continues 

with the king. What do you discard? 
 

  ♠ Q 9 5 

  ♥ Q 10 6 

  ♦ J 10 8 

  ♣ 9 8 6 4 

    ♠ A K 

    ♥ 7 

    ♦ Q 7 6 5 4 

    ♣ K Q J 3 2 
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To encourage a ♣ switch you might discard the ‘highest’ of your spot cards, the three. 
Alas, even the most observant of partners may fail to see the significance of this. Since 
you can be sure (unless South has a singleton ace) that a ♣ switch will defeat the 
contract, it is worth investing in a more conspicuous discard to ensure that the message 
gets across. Discard the king of ♣s. This is the full deal: 
 

  ♠ Q 9 5 

  ♥ Q 10 6 

  ♦ J 10 8 

  ♣ 9 8 6 4 

♠ 6 3     ♠ A K 

♥ A K 9 8 4 3 2   ♥ 7 

♦ 9 2     ♦ Q 7 6 5 4 

♣ 7 5     ♣ K Q J 3 2 

  ♠ J 10 8 7 4 2 

  ♥ J 5 

  ♦ A K 3 

  ♣ A 10 

 
You can guess what would happen if you do not so dramatically draw attention to the ♣ 
suit. Unaware that you would be ruffing with a natural trump trick, partner surely 
continues with a third round of ♥s. As the cards lie, and as you might well have 
predicted, this allows declarer to discard a ♣ and make the contract.  
 
Other popular discard systems 
 
Other than the standard natural discard system that I’ve outlined above, there are a few 
others, namely: 
 

• Italian (sometimes known as odd-even discards or Roman discards) 
 
Many players use the Italian style, where an odd discard encourages in that suit and 
an even card discourages and has a suit-preference signal:  

 
o High even card indicates interest in the higher side-suit, and  
o Low even card indicates interest in the lower side-suit 

 
However you may find yourself having all odd cards in the suit you want to discard! 
In this case you throw a high odd card first followed by a low odd card. Some people 
dislike this method of discarding because of this. 
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Contract 3NT by South 
 
  ♠ AQ5  

  ♥ 32  

  ♦ KQ63  

  ♣ AT74  
♠ 732    ♠ KJ86  

♥ KT54    ♥ A876  

♦ T4    ♦ 982  

♣ Q652    ♣ 83  
  ♠ T94  

  ♥ QJ9  

  ♦ AJ75  

  ♣ KJ9 
 

Opening Lead: ♥4 

 

West led the ♥4 won by the ♥Ace. The ♥6 was returned to the ♥King and  

West exited with a third heart. South now played off four rounds of diamonds. On the 
third diamond West’s odd-even pitch of the ♠2 showed no interest in spades but 
suggested clubs. On the fourth diamond East’s odd-even pitch of the ♣8 said that 
East didn’t like clubs but did like spades. These odd-even discards gave away the 
whole hand. Declarer now knew how to play the clubs and knew to refuse to take 
any spade finesse.  
 

Another example: Dealer: North Contract 6♥  

 
  ♠ K9643  

  ♥ Q984  

  ♦ AQ  

  ♣ AQ  
♠ J75    ♠ 82  

♥ 1062    ♥ A  

♦ K10753    ♦ J842  

♣ 95    ♣ K107632 
  ♠ AQT  

  ♥ KJ753  

  ♦ 96  

  ♣ J84 
 

Opening Lead ♥10  

 
In this example, the obvious problem, for declarer, is whether to take the club finesse 
or the diamond finesse. If East’s first pitch is the ♣3, doesn’t that increase the odds 
that you will take the right finesse? On this particular hand it’s hard for East to false-
card because there are only even cards in the diamond suit. Incidentally, if East had 
the opportunity to double cue-bids of both clubs and diamonds and didn’t, it may 
affect declarer’s play. However, it seems that a double of a club cue-bid to suggest a 
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club lead have been better than using an odd-even discard during the play of the 
hand? 
 
Of course East could lie and discard an even club as this would not affect his 
partner. Often it is correct to discard rubbish rather than encourage partner to a 
particular suit. 

 

• McKenney 
 
Using this method, the suits are ‘ranked’ from low to high; Clubs; Diamonds; Hearts 
and Spades. 

 
 How it works 
 
 So, the card you discard can be either: 
 

o A ‘high’ card – this suggests you want the higher ranking of the ‘other’ two suits 

[the ‘other suits’ being not the discard suit] 

 

or 

o A ‘low’ card – this suggests you want the lower of the ‘other’ two suits 

 
      An Example: 
 

If either Declarer or your Partner were to lead a suit you are void in, let’s say for this 
example, a Spade.  If you discard a: 

 
o ‘Low’ Diamond, you are suggesting a Club lead, 
 
o ‘High’ Club, you are suggesting a Heart lead… 

 

• Revolving 
 
Revolving discards use a similar approach to McKenney, where a discard suggests a 
suit to lead; chosen from the suits other than the suit you are void in and the suit 
being discarded. 

 
The difference between Revolving and McKenney is that the suits are thought of as 
‘clock face’, running clockwise from Clubs, through Diamonds and Hearts, to 
Spades. 
 
How it works 
 
A low card in a Revolving style, suggests an anti-clockwise [suit ‘below’] switch, 
whilst a high card, suggests a clockwise [suit above] switch.   
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An Example 
 
In this approach, and using the same example we had for McKenney, if either 
Declarer or your Partner were to lead a Spade. If you discard a: 

 
o ‘Low’ Diamond, you are suggesting partner works out to move ‘anti-clockwise’ 

and make a Club lead. 
 

o ‘High’ Club, you are suggesting partner moves ‘clockwise’ and again makes a 
Diamond lead, 

 

• Dodds 
 

The final discard system we will consider is DODDS, where the discard of an ‘Even’ 
card suggests a liking for the suit being discarded, whilst the discard of an ‘Odd’ card 
suggests a liking for the suit of the same colour. 

 
An Example 
 
Considering our previous example;  
 
if either Declarer or your Partner were to lead a Spade. 
 
If you discard an ‘Even’ Diamond, you are suggesting partner leads a Diamond… 
If you discard an ‘Odd’ Diamond, you are suggesting partner leads the other suit of 
that colour, a Heart. 

 
Neutral discards 
 
One thing that you may like to consider when deciding on an approach to discard 

systems is how to deal with situations when you don’t want to suggest a strong 

preference for any suit.     

 
Some discard systems lend themselves better to ‘neutral’ discards than others, for 

example in Revolving, and referring back again to our example hand: 

If you were to discard a ‘high’ Heart on the Spade lead, Revolving would suggest to 

partner you wanted the next ‘clockwise’ suit ‘Spades’.  Obviously this cannot be the case 

as you are discarding on Spades, so it is reasonable for partner to assume this is your 

‘Neutral’ discard.  

 
And Finally 

Whichever system for signals and discards you try, and each has its merits and 

advocates, just make sure you and your partner are on the same wavelength. And 

remember that:  
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• Sometimes you want to encourage partner to a particular suit but  

• Sometimes it is better just to throw cards that are of no use.  

 


