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Al P @ smano

This was a good hand for Precision as they could start at a low level — show a strong hand, agree
hearts and start cue-bidding early. It is tougher in a natural base.

The main point | was trying to make here was how do you respond over a 2NT opening (which would
be most partnership’s choice) when you use transfers.

The recommended style is that if partner does transfer into a major suit you only accept the transfer
with 3 cards in that suit. With a doubleton you reject the transfer and bid 3NT (or over 2NT - 3D you
can also reject by bidding 3S with a 5 card spade suit). The downside is that you can never play (for
certain) in 3H or 3S but the upside is greater.

What it means is that if partner accepts the transfer you have found a fit. Therefore if you now bid a
second suit that would be a cue-bid looking for slam. If partner denies the fit by bidding 3NT, now a
bid of a second suit is natural.

Examples:

2NT -3D

3H - 4C would be a cue-bid (cheapest cue — so would deny a spade control)
But

2NT-3D

3NT - 4C would be a second suit looking for slam in that suit (you might have a hand like xx, Axxxx,
Kx, Kxxx for instance).

Note that if your bid shows a second suit partner can cue to agree that second suit (guaranteeing 4+
cards) or sign off in 4NT or your major (remember on these auctions they will have denied holding
three cards in that suit already).
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Whilst we are on the subject of transfer breaks, make sure that you and your partner have agreed
how to break a transfer when partner transfers into a major over a 1INT opening.

In principle breaking the transfer is just bidding according to the “Law” — bidding to the length of
your combined fit. If you have 4 card support and partner for their transfer promises 5, you have a
9 card fit — so the “Law” says you can bid to the 3 level (either pre-emptively or offensively).

There are a lot of methods of transfer breaks out there in the market — this is the one | use. So not
saying it is the only one but it has worked for me.

If I have a 4 card fit for partner’s transferred major then:

1) With a 4/3/3/3 shape | jump to 3 of the major — remember that with this shape 3NT might
be considered a playable spot

2) With a strong doubleton (Ax or Kx | bid that doubleton). After such a bid retransfers would
apply in order to right side the contract. So INT - 2D / 3C - 3D would just be a retransfer to
H to get the stronger hand to play it. Obviously this only works if there is room to do so —
had my doubleton been in D, the auction would have been 1NT - 2D / 3D ....now there is no
room for a retransfer, so 3H would be natural and to play.

3) With a weak doubleton, | bid 2NT. If partner is interested where the doubleton is they can
ask by bidding 3C, and | will then show the suit where my doubleton is. e.g. INT - 2D / 2NT -
3C/ 3S would show a weak doubleton in spades (note bidding the transferred major shows a
weak doubleton in clubs)

4) Note none of the above distinguishes between minimums and maximums — personally | do
not think it is worth the distinction.
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Finally on transfers what action should we take if a transfer bid gets doubled?
My recommendation is

a) Pass = doubleton support without 4+ good cards in the suit doubled

b) Rdbl = doubleton and 4+ good cards in the suit doubled (as above)

c) Accepting the transfer shows 3

d) Transfer breaks still apply

e) If we do a) above, then a redouble by the Opener shows a desire for the transfer to be
completed.
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| was asked by Margi if a double of 2D on the above auction would have been penalty or take-out.
My view is that it would have been take-out — if she had redoubled first and then doubled, that
would have been penalties (but passing and then doubling would be take-out).

All this is a matter of partnership style and so it is up to each individual partnership to determine
what their own rules are, but it is probably one of the most important areas of a good partnership
to have made sure they have discussed and are on exactly the same wavelength — otherwise disaster
lurks round the next corner (how often have you heard or had the conversation — “sorry partner, |
thought your double was for penalties” ).

My rule is very simple — all doubles are for penalties unless they are on my list as being penalty. |
probably need to expand my own list, but if it is not on the list it is for TAKE-OUT. You can use my list
as a starting point for partnership discussion or make up your own list.

In the following areas we have agreed that penalty doubles apply:

a) Doubles of a weak NT. Note all subsequent doubles (if they try to run) are also penalty.
Immediate doubles (over a running bid) will tend to promise 4+ trumps, whilst protective
doubles are also penalty based but can be based on a 3+ holding in the trumps suit

b) Doubles after any strength showing redouble are penalty — e.g. 1D - Dbl - Rdbl - 1S / Dbl or
1D - Dbl -Rdbl-1S /P - P - Dbl

c) Doubles of interference bids where the double is not being used as a game try are penalties.
Here we use the rule that if no room is available for any other bid then double is a game try
(e.g. 1H - 2D - 2H - 3D / Dbl would be a game try) but If any room is left available the double
is penalty (e.g. 1H - 2C - 2H - 3C/ Dbl is penalty as 3D is available as a game try (not Diamond
specific).

d) After any penalty double has been made, all subsequent doubles are for penalties.



e) A double by a player who could have made a negative double, but elects to pass and then
subsequently doubles is a penalty double (with values) of the original suit overcalled
e.g.1D-1S-P-2C/ 2D - 3C - Dbl is penalty dbl of spades.

f) After a player has passed a 2 suited overcall made by the opposition, a subsequent double is
penalties. e.g. 1H-2NT-P-3C/P-P-Dbl

g) If we double a 2 suited overcall , this may often include penalty overtones as well and always
promises another bid. So 1H - 2NT - Dbl -3C/ P - P - Dbl would be penalties

And that’s my list — might be missing a couple that you can agree to add.



