HOLD-UP PLAYS AND DANGEROUS HAND IN NOTRUMP
by Maritha Pottenger

The purpose of a hold-up play is to exhaust one defender of cards in a particular suit. This is especially true at
no trump. Once one opponent no longer has cards in that suit, that opponent becomes the “safe” hand and the
partner is the “danger” hand. Your challenge is to develop your tricks without allowing the dangerous hand to
gain the lead. The general “rule” in NT is to hold up an Ace twice if you and dummy have only 5 cards in
the suit; hold up once if you and dummy and 6 cards in the suit and don’t bother to hold up if you and
dummy have 7 cards in the suit. (This rule only applies with the Ace.)

If for example, you hold Axx in spades and dummy has xx, and a 4™-best spade is led, you will generally
hold up twice (taking your Ace on the third round). You hope that one opponent (presumably right-hand
opponent) has no more spades by then. Do not hold up when there is a more dangerous suit to which your
opponent might switch. Thus, if you hold Axx in spades and xxx in dummy and a 4™-best spade is led, but you
have Ax of hearts opposite 10xx, do NOT hold-up in spades. You can not afford to have a heart switch!

When there is a dangerous hand, you must tailor your play to that fact. You will try to take finesses
only into the “safe” hand. If you have two possible suits to develop, you will choose to attack the one that offers
the least chance that the danger hand might get the lead. When there is a dangerous hand, you want the
dangerous hand to play second if you must take a finesse—NOT fourth!

When your holding is AJx in a suit, you can consider that one and one-half stoppers. How you play the suit
depends on which opponent you think is likely to gain the lead next. If left-hand opponent leads the suit and
right-hand opponent plays a high honor (king or queen), you should take your Ace immediately IF AND ONLY
IF you believe that left-hand opponent is likely to gain the lead next. (Your Jx is still a stopper if left-hand
opponent has the lead.) If, however, you think that right-hand is most likely to gain the lead next, you should
hold-up for two rounds (ducking twice) and take the 3 round of the suit—hoping that right-hand will be
exhausted of the suit (no more) by then.

When does a 1Y stopper holding become a 2 stopper holding and when does it become only 1 stopper?
If you hold AJx opposite xx(x), that is 1% stoppers in the suit. If LHO leads the King (promising Queen), duck
the first trick. LHO cannot continue that suit without giving you two tricks (and two stoppers in no trump). This
is called the Bath Coup. If LHO leads low (promising an honor) in no trump and RHO plays the Queen (or the
King), then you must assume that the other half of the royal pair is on your left. If you must take a finesse in
another suit that could lose to LHO, take RHO’s sovereign with the Ace immediately. Your Jx becomes a 2™
stopper if LHO leads the suit (as you play 4™ hand). If you must take a finesse in another suit that could lose to
RHO, duck the sovereign. Duck the 2™ round of that suit and take the 3" round. You are hoping to exhaust
RHO of the suit that was led. Then, if your essential finesse loses, RHO will not have any of the first suit left to
lead to his/her partner’s length. (Remember, your Jx is NOT a stopper if RHO leads the suit.)

Another example of a 1% stopper combination is the KQx in a suit. If the Ace is on your right, you
always have two stoppers. If the Ace is on your left, you have one stopper—or two stoppers—depending on
who gets the lead next. If LHO leads that suit and RHO plays the 10 (trying to force you to play the King or
Queen), assume that LHO has the Ace. If you must take a finesse in another suit that could lose to LHO, take
your King immediately. Your Qx will serve as a second stopper if LHO leads that suit again (as you are playing
4™ hand). If you must take a finesse in another suit that could lose to RHO, duck the 10. Play the King or Queen
on the 2" round of the suit and pray that RHO has only two cards in the suit. If so, you will exhaust RHO of
that suit and, even if the finesse in the other suit loses, RHO will not be able to lead the dangerous suit to his/her
partner.

These 1% stopper combinations are also called positional stoppers. (They are two stoppers or one stopper
based on the position of the opponent who leads that suit next.) Another positional stopper is AQJ opposite xx.
If LHO leads low in that suit (promising an honor), RHO will play some spot card & you take the Jack. If you
have two cards that you must knock out from the opponents’ hands, take the finesse in another suit that could
lose into LHO’s hand first. Your AQ remaining in that first suit is two stoppers if LHO leads the suit again. It
becomes only one stopper if RHO leads the suit. If you let RHO get the lead first (perhaps by knocking out an
Ace), RHO eliminates your last stopper. Then, when you must finesse into LHO (the truly dangerous hand at
that point), a losing finesse means losing your contract.



