
 

WHEN NOT TO USE STAYMAN 

 
A876 
QJ6 
Q92 
AK8 

 

J4 
K1072 
10854 
762 
 

 
932 
A95 
K73 
Q1043 

N      E      S    W 
1N    P      2C   P 
2S    P      4S   P 
P      P 

KQ105 
843 
AJ6 
J95 

 

 
On this auction, East led a trump. Declarer tried but could only manage to take 9 tricks even 
though the D finesse worked. However NS did not own the D 10 so had to lose 1 Diamond, 2 
Hearts and one Club.  
 
Down one. 
 
After the hand was over, NS realized that while they could not make 4S, they could have made 
3NT. So, they pondered, what went wrong. 
 
Just because you have a tool in your shed, it doesn't  mean that you have to use it - no matter 
what. South used Stayman just because he owned a 4 card major. He failed to consider that 
with a perfectly balanced hand and NO ruffing values (short suits) that it would be easier to 
make 9 tricks in 3NT than 10 tricks in a major.  
 
 
RULE: Do not use Stayman when you have a 4-3-3-3 hand. We are programmed to always 
want to play a hand in a major when we have an 8 card fit. We can draw trump and still have 
one trump left in declarer's hand and one in dummy. These trumps can then be scored 
separately by means of ruffing (trumping), allowing declarer to win one more trick in the major 
than he could in No Trump (420 versus 400 on the score sheet). 
 
 
BUT for this to be able to happen, there must be a short suit somewhere. With no short suit, 
avoid using Stayman. Responder to a 1NT opener holding 10+ HCP and a 4 card major and 4-
3-3-3 should simply bid 3NT. Responder with 9 HCP should raise merely to 2NT: This asks 
opener if he has 15 to pass and if he has 17 to bid 3NT...With 16, he should decide if he likes 
his hand: 10's and 9's versus 2's and 3's. Possession of a 5 card suit would also be a reason 
to accept the invitation and bid 3NT. There is one other factor: He should check to see who 
he is playing against. If they look like gentle souls, he should bid 3NT ! 
Responder to a 1NT opener with 4-3-3-3 and exactly 8 HCP should pass. It will be right most 
of the time.  
 

 



 

REBIDS BY THE RESPONDER 
by Max Hardy 

1.  
 
Q93 
K1064 
8754 
J3 

2.  
 
Q3 
K10764 
Q9872 
8 

3. 
 
Q3 
J874 
95 
KJ873 

 
4. 
 
8 
AQJ97654 
86 
K104 
 
 

 
5. 
 
J8 
AQ1074 
KQ6 
J104 
 

 
6.  
 
108 
KQ95 
AQ104 
852 

7.  
 
KJ84 
Q1073 
5 
J763 

8.  
 
Q3 
KJ10964 
AJ5 
K4 

In all of these cases, 
your partner opened 1C. 
You responded 1H. 
Opener has rebid 1S.  
What is your rebid as 
responder?   

 
 

ANSWERS 
1. Pass. You know that you have reached a 4-3 fit, but with your meagre values, 
you don't want to get any higher. 1S will be as good a contract as any.  
 
2. 1NT. Not the description you would like to make, but no other call will show your 
limited values. You cannot rebid hearts with only 5 (on this auction) and you do 
not have enough points to bid 2D. 
 
3. 2C. This shows your minimum response (6-9 points) and only 4 hearts with 
longer clubs.  
 
4. 4H. Your heart suit is self-sufficient and your 10 HCP grow up to be enough for 
game when you factor in your seven card suit.  
 
5. 2D. This is 4th suit forcing. It says nothing about the Diamond suit but makes 
the auction forcing to game. With your game-going values, you really want to know 
if partner has a three card fit for your five card suit.  
 



6. 2NT. You have game invitational values (11-12 HCP) and you have a stopper in 
Diamonds.  
 
7. 2S, A courtesy raise since your minimum is maximum and you do have 4 card 
support. Responder should never raise opener's second suit holding only 3 card 
support. 
 
8. 2D. once again, this is 4th suit forcing (the convention). You know that game 
should be reached but do not know what game. You cannot bid 3H as that would 
only be invitational. NEW suits are forcing...OLD suits are NOT forcing.  
 
ED. NOTE: Do make sure you learn Fourth Suit Forcing (the convention). It is so 
important.  
 
 

 

SIGNALLING by EDDIE KANTAR 
MODERN BRIDGE DEFENSE 

 
When partner leads an ace in a supported suit and sets up a number of winners in 

dummy  
 

At times you support partner with 3 or 4 small and partner leads the Ace hoping 
you have a bit more. Sometimes the dummy will turn up with the KQx(x). Not good. 
Declarer is sure to use either one or both of dummy's honours for discards. Clearly 
partner is going to have to shift at trick two, but to what? Not to worry 'to what'. 
You are going to tell partner 'to what'. Your first play in this situation is suit 
preference, not attitude. Partner already knows your attitude: you hate the lead.   

Q75 
KQ8 
642 
7642 

 

J 
AJ7653 
K105 
Q109 

 
64 
1094 
AJ86 
J853 

W     N      E    S 
 
1H    P      2H   4S 
P      P       P 

AK109832 
2 
Q93 
AK 

 

 
You are East. Partner leads the H Ace and given dummy's Heart strength, it is impossible 
that you could want a Heart continuation. Your spot card should be a suit preference signal. 
If you are on your toes, you will play the H 10, suit preference for Diamonds, the higher 
ranking of the two left-over suits (excluding trump). Partner will switch to a low Diamond 



(bottom of something). You will win the Ace and return a Diamond to defeat the contract 
one trick before declarer can rev up his motor.  
Had you NOT supported partner, it would be too dangerous to play the H 10, as partner 
would read it as showing a singleton or a doubleton. Better to play low and hope for the 
best. However, once partner knows you have length (because you supported her) and 
cannot realistically want a continuation, the suit preference signal stands out like a sore 
thumb.  

 THE RUFFING FINESSE 
When you have a singleton opposite something like AQJ, in a suit contract, it 
is usually wrong to finesse. Your singleton is not a loser and you may now 
convert it into a loser if you lose to the King.  
Consider the following hand: 
 

A954 
106 
AQJ109 
J8 

 

8 
KQJ9 
752 
K7432 

 
J7 
87532 
K864 
65 

 
N           S 
1D          1S 
2S          4NT 
5H          6S 

KQ10632 
A4 
3 
AQ109 

 
OPENING LEAD:  
Heart KING 

 

Meet Randy Baron 
 

Randy is a fun-loving delightful man. He was the owner of Baron Barclay Bridge 
Supplies for many years and handed over the reins to the current owner, Jim Maier, 
many years ago. They are the largest suppliers of bridge books and products in 
the world.  
 
Randy now takes groups around the world playing bridge.  
http://baronbridgetravel.com/         goosebag@aol.com 
 
 
Here are some of his many rules guaranteed to make you a better player! 
 
1. Play only with partners you like and enjoy playing with. Of course, this is very 

simple advice, but if you look around your club or tournament, there are many 



people who ignore this at their peril. Who needs the aggravation when you play 

with someone who isn't compatible with you? I realize we all want to win as much 

as possible, but choose someone to sit across from you who allows you to be 

yourself.  

 

2. Consent to play only conventions you are totally comfortable with. Stayman and 

Blackwood are the only conventions that are absolutely necessary for most 

players (I'll add in Jacoby Transfers and Negative Doubles as close behind). The 

important point is that if you place a new convention on your card, make sure you 

understand it and have discussed it at length with your partner. Many players think 

it makes them look "cool" or experienced to have all the new bids as part of their 

arsenal. Sure, many of the top players use a complex biddings system but they 

study and practice constantly. If you don't play often or have various partners, Play 

the KISS method (Keep It Simple, Stupid!) 

 

3. Do not underlead an ace on opening lead against a suit contract.  

There aren't many rules that are ironclad, those you should follow 100% of the time. 

I think this is one of them. If you make this play, there are many negative 

possibilities. It can destroy partnership trust and ruin the defence on the hand. A 

good plan: If you are defending against a suit contract, with a suit headed by an 

ace, in most cases it makes sense to lead another suit on opening lead (of course, 

there are exceptions such as when partner has bid the suit or you decide to make 

an aggressive lead such as Ax). 

 

Ed. Note to the less experienced:  Underleading an Ace means that if you have 

Diamonds: A742 that you lead the 2. We are recommending that you never lead 

this suit at all against a suit contract on opening lead. Pick another suit. If the 

opponents have bid all other suits twice!! and you feel you must lead this suit, then 

lead the Ace, not a small one but best to not lead this suit at all. Wait until it is led 

for you.  
 

 
 

 

 


