Newer Players

Last month we introduced the Rule
of 20, which suggests bidding more
aggressively with borderline distribu-
tional hands as dealer or directly after
dealer passes. This bidding guideline
lets us open more frequently, which
can be an advantage.

The Rule of 20 became popular in the
’90s after Marty Bergen popularized it
in his book “Points Schmoints.” Some
players lived by it even when it meant
opening 1¢e with this hand:

AQJ YQ742 €Q #K76542.

Adding high-card points plus length
(one point for each card beyond four
cards in long suits), gives us 12 total
points, a total that requires judgment
on whether or not to open. The Rule
of 20 has us add 10 HCP to the 10 total
cards in our two longest suits (clubs
and hearts). With a sum of 20 or more,
opening is suggested. How about you?
Would you open?

One-level opening bids in first- or
second-seat tend to show both offense
- the ability to win tricks as declarer -
and defense - the ability to win tricks
if the opponents win the bid.

Ifyou find a good fit and your side
wins the bidding, opening might work
out well, but your high cards are too
scattered to guarantee many tricks on
offense. Happiness is having our high
cards together in our long suits. Only
5 of this hand’s 10 HCP are in suits
havinglength, and those 10 HCP are
not the best.

The 4-3-2-1 point-count system
undervalues aces and overvalues
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Rule of 20 or 227

queens and jacks. Being aware of these
facts makes you upgrade or downgrade
ahand as you gain judgment. What

if your opponents win the auction?

On defense, the o K could be a trick,
but the club length might be offset

by shortness in an opponent’s hand.
Singleton and doubleton honors could
fall. On a bad day, this hand could pro-
vide zero tricks on defense. Regardless
of the fact that the Rule of 20 is met, I
would pass.

Several Bulletin writers have sug-
gested using the Rule of 22, an easy and
reasonable modification that takes de-
fensive tricks into consideration. The
extra 2 comes from the required num-
ber of quick tricks - tricks that can be
won if you end up defending. A definite
first- or second-round winner (an ace
or a king-queen combined) is one quick
trick. A possible first- or second-round
winner counts as half a quick trick.
Aces and kings usually count as quick
tricks. Queens count only when paired
with a higher card in the same suit.

Ace =1 quick trick

Ace-king in same suit = 2 quick tricks
(Don’t add more with the queen)

Ace-queen in same suit = 1.5 quick tricks

King-queen in same suit = 1 quick trick

Protected king = .5 quick trick

(Movre than a singleton but without
the ace or queen)

We might think of the Rule of 22
as The Rule of 20+2 with the “+2” an

additional requirement to the Rule of
20. The hand we’ve been discussing
has only a half quick trick (the ¢ K) for
20.5, not the suggested 22, and passing
is suggested.

Let’s apply the Rule of 22 to three
hands you might hold as dealer. None
comes to 13 points including HCP plus
length, so your decision is whether or
not to open alittle light.

1. AAQI974 983 #KJB872 &5
2.8KQ ¥J8753 #KJ952 &5
3.AKQ74 YWK875 #KJ54 &5

Hand No. 1 values to 12 total points,
counting one length point in each
five-card suit. If you're in doubt as to
whether to open, apply the Rule of 20,
which is met with 10 HCP + 10 cards
in the two longest suits. The hand also
has 2 quick tricks to meet the Rule of
20+2.0penld.

With 10 HCP and two long suits, you
might value hand No. 2 at 12 points;
but because the hearts are a bit weak,
you might judge this hand to be worse
than hand No. 1. While we do meet the
Rule of 20, we're lacking in the quick-
tricks department, with only 1.5 (one
in spades and a halfin diamonds). Pass,
because the hand does not meet the
Rule of 20+2.

With 12 HCP, hand No. 3 meets
the Rule of 20 (adding 8 cards in the
two longest suits). There are also
two quick tricks (one for the 8K Q
and .5 each for the YK and ¢ K).
Openlé®.

With a full 13-point opening hand, »



Hello, Jerry,

For some reason, I agreed to play
with an experienced player who is
known to be rude ... my mistake. As
dealer he held:

AAK7 VYK1094 €J107 #AQJ

West Partner East Me
16 Dbl Pass

Pass Pass

My hand:

AQ964 ¥Q875 €65 &963

Ifeel, first of all, he should have
opened 1¢e and then bid INT instead
of sitting for the double. He said
that my passing the takeout double
indicated support for his diamonds.
Ithink he’s wrong. After the session,
he informed me that if I ever wished
to play again, I would need to pay for
his entry because he didn’t want to
waste his money. What do you think?

JB

» Play and Learn continued

the Rule of 22 is not needed. Use it
only when deciding whether or not to
open with fewer than 13 points. Once
you apply the Rule of 22 to open, gauge
your future bids on the actual strength
of your hand along with judgment
based on what you learn as the auction
progresses. But don’t chicken out mid-
auction and pass partner’s forcing bid.
Opening the bidding obligates you to
see that the bidding remains open after
partner makes a forcing bid. [

Ask Jerry
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Hi, JB,

Wow! This so-called experienced
player was wrong on so many counts
that it is staggering. I'll start with his
initial mistake and work my way down.

‘ Why would anyone ever open
14 onJ-10-xinstead of 1¢ on
A-Q-J? A14 opening shows four
or more diamonds 97.2% of the
time; the only time we open 1 ¢
with a three-card suit is when
specifically holding 4=4=3=2
distribution. In addition to distort-
ing his shape, he was apparently
choosing a “lead deflector” just in
case he ended up playing the hand.

‘ How could your pass of a takeout
double possibly show diamond
support? His contention casts
serious doubts on his expertise.
From your perspective, the
opponents may well have been
preparing to play in one of your
four-card majors. Any bid by you
over the takeout double would be
natural and forcing, showing more
than the 4 high-card points you
actually hold. Your pass is the only
action that is conceivable.

‘ Although you did not specify the
decibel level of his unwarranted
criticism, I suspect he was guilty
of violating one of my more
important Jerry-isms:

* It's OK to be wrong, but it is NOT OK
: to be wrong loudly and rudely!

Newer Players

My general feeling is that if the
opponents think they can beat you
in a one-level contract, they usually
can. For this reason, I would seize
any reasonable option to escape 1 ¢
doubled. Before your partner passed,
he had one last chance to do something
right on this deal. He should have
made an SOS redouble. This redouble
announces to responder that there
might be a better place to play and to
please pick his longest suit.

On this deal, you would have an easy
1V bid. 19, ifleft there, is a clearly
superior contractto 1 ¢ doubled. If
opener thinks the opponents have
erred and he can make his contract, he
should simply smile inwardly and pass.

You're right that a INT rebid would
be correct with your partner’s hand
had his left-hand opponents made an
overcall in a suit. But when 1 ¢ doubled
comes back around to him, redouble is
the better call.

This interpretation of the redouble
in this type of auction has become
standard to experienced duplicate
players. Perhaps he felt you would not
understand it. From my point of view,
this is just one more undeserved insult
hurled in your direction.

Pay his entry fee? Surely he jests! m
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