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By Steve Moese Defense & Declarer Play Level: BASIC& Intermediate
Tuesday Night Lecture Series

* Stop In Counting Shape I & II we reviewed 5
* Look  how opponent’s bidding describes shape A EID R EIMSAIAIRSE
. . . 1. Bidding
* Listen  and how we begin to build shape . .
. 2. Opening leads/New Suit leads
« Analyze estimates. Assume a2/l Game Force 3 ntaeetion fro D
« Plan approach — :[he more common duplic?lte 4: Count Signals
system. Let’s focus on how the opening 5. The play of the hand (Discovery)

* Execute jead can help declarer or defender
decide how best to play the hand. Here’s where the Rule of Eleven comes in handy. Why do we
call it the rule of eleven?

#Q105
Rule of Eleven: Facing a 4" So.... if partner leads the 43 a3 led... © 2AJ84
best spot card lead, subtract and we are using 4™ best 4?7?77
the spot card number from 11 leads, then there are 8 cards
to get the number of higher (11-3) higher than the #3 in the remaining 3 hands. Why
cards in the remaining 3 hands. | does that matter?

Well if you are defending, then partner’s lead tells you exactly how many cards declarer holds
higher than the #3 in the closed hand. Why? You can count the HIGHER cards in your hand
and in dummy and subtract them from 8. The result must be the number of cards higher than the
#3 held by declarer. In the example suit you know 8 higher cards are outstanding and you see 7
of them between you and dummy.

This information can guide you to the best card to play to trick one, and can help you count out
declarer’s shape. Here you must decide if you will get a good score if declarer wins a # trick. If
not then you have to play declarer for the 46 and insert your 48 on the 1*' trick. That way you

2Q105 can return a spade to partner’s 4K and collect 5 # tricks in NT.
2K9732 ~AJ84 What happens if declarer has the 49 instead? Then declarer will
26 ALWAYS win a # trick (Try it!!!). Can declarer hold the 4K?
Yes, and if so then declarer will always win 1 # trick.
Change the situation ever so slightly and let’s see how the choices 2Q10
change. Now you can count only 6 car.ds higher than the 93' SO &3 led. . aAJ84
declarer must have 2 of them. The 42 is hidden for now — either 299

partner or declarer might hold that card. If declarer holds #Kxx

then declarer must win 1 # trick. If declarer holds xx(x) in Spades, then your side will win either
4 or 5 tricks depending only on partner’s length. Here the right card for the 1% trick is the #],
forcing declarer’s #K or wining the trick. You will continue #s to win the rest later.

2Q10 Sometimes partner’s spot card lead does not compute. Take this
a7 led. . aAJ84 example. Subtracting partner’s 7 from 11 leaves 4 cards and you
42792 can clearly see 5 higher cards. This means partner’s lead was NOT

4™ best. Partner is either leading the top of a doubleton, top of 3+
length or Middle-Up-Down (MUD) depending on your style. Whichever, partner will not hold
the 4K — you can count on declarer to hold that card. Indeed declarer rates to hold the 49 too



(unless partner made a MUD lead). Continuing #s now could develop more tricks for declarer
than for your side. Better to consider whether a switch is right — study the dummy then decide.

Q65 One final idea... Partner’s 47 lead suggests there are only 4 higher
a7 led. . aAJ84  #sinother 3 hands. You can see all 4 of them. You want your 4A
POLD to capture Dummy’s #Q. Play the #4, confident partner will win the

trick (and be surprised). Expect partner to continue #s.

Pause to reflect on the bidding and Dummy You LHO P RHO You

the lead. They bid to 3N in a non- Q065 #AJ84 | IN  Pass 3N  All Pass
Stayman auction. If they have 25 vK98 YA3 Partner leads the #7

HCP then partner has 6 HCP. If + )94 ¢ 8762

they have 28, then partner has 3 #AJ84 #10932

HCP. Partner’s lead says declarer

does not hold a # higher than the #7. Resist the temptation to win this trick so you can switch to
¢s. Partner might or might not have a side K. Better to duck and collect 4 # tricks, setting the
contract with your YA. Let declarer work to find out where partner’s remaining honors are.

You RHO You LHO Partner| Defending against and expert pair you ponder your
aAJR42 IN Pass 3N All opening lead. You know partne}:lr will have close to
vA3 Pass 0 HCP. You normally lead a 4™ best 4. However
* K87 Opening Lead?? partner cannot possibly have help. Here you can
£Q93 gain a small edge on a declarer who reads your

signals — lead the #2!! Why? Declarer will now
think the outstanding #s are breaking 4-4 and will not worry about finessing partner as much. If
you advertise your 5 #s too early, declarer might work to avoid your hand, with great success on
this hand. What do you do when in next? Lead the #4 (continue the ruse) #s might just break 3-
3. You will have 5 tricks before declarer gets to 9.

3" and 5" Best Leads

This spot card lead is popular among experts. Many play 3™ and 5™ leads against suits, while
using 4™ best leads against NT. Many use them all the time. Why? 3™ and 5™ leads make
leading from 3 cards easier to count correctly, introduce apparent ambiguity (declarer might not
know which length is likely) and eliminates the Rule of Eleven. That’s OK. Use the Rule of 10
or 12 against these defenders! Decide whether the opening leader led from a 3 or a 5 card suit.
Use the Rule of 10 if you suspect a 5 card suit and the rule of 12 if you suspect a 3 card suit.

Usually bidding or the dummy clears up whether a suit is 5 cards or 3 cards. If the leader has bid
the suit, 5 cards is more likely. If leader’s partner has bid the suit, 3 cards is more likely. Ifthe
suit is unbid, look back to the auction — If the leader could have overcalled the suit cheaply and
did not then there is a small inference that they are leading from 3 cards or a topless 5 card suit.

When you see the dummy you will see the number of cards you hold in the suit led. If 5 or
fewer, suspect a 5 card suit (subject to bidding — the leader might have hit partner’s 5 card suit).
If 7 or more then 3 cards is a bit more likely. As you count out their shape during the hand, the
actual count will be obvious.



Why does the Rule of 11 Work?

A suit has 13 cards. The lowest is the 2. (Think: face value 2, rank 1) The highest is the A. The
A is card 14. (Think face value 14, rank 13). Why 14? The 10 is face value 10, rank 9. The Jack
is face value 11, rank 10, the Queen is face value 12 rank 11. The King is face value 13, rank 12.
The Ace is higher than the K.

Use face because it costs no memory or thought. Note the 2 has 14-2 or 12 cards higher. The
Jack has 14-11 or 3 cards higher, etc. When the opening leader leads 4™ best, there are 3 cards
higher than the spot led. That leaves 14-3 = 11 cards higher than the spot led in the
remaining 3 hands. That’s where we get the Rule of 11.

What about 3" and 5™ best leads? Extending the same logic, leading from a 5 card suit means
14 - 4 = 10 cards higher left in the other 3 hands. Leading from a 3 card suit means 14-2 = 12
cards higher in the other 3 hands. (You have to choose which holding the leader has). Hence the
Rule of 10 or 12 against this opening lead approach.

Learning Points

1) Take time to apply the Rule of 11 (or 10/12) to the opening lead before playing
mechanically. You might just find a better play.

2) User the Rules of 11 (10/12) whether defending or declaring.

3) When leading 4™ best, the lead of the 2 (or 3 with the 2 in view; or 4 with the 2 and 3 in
view) indicates a 4 card suit if a true lead.

4) Use the Rule of 11 to make smart plays in 3" seat after partner’s opening lead.

5) Use the Rule of 10 or 12 against when facing 3" of 5™ best leads.
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