
The opening lead always seems to
have a bearing on the outcome of
a hand, especially in duplicate

pairs where every overtrick and under-
trick matters. This is why the traveller
has a space on it for the lead; it can be
quite enlightening to see the lead written
down, for it will often explain a great
success or disaster. Unfortunately most
Norths omit to write in the lead and thus
the mystery remains unsolved.

In a no-trump contract, if you pick the
right suit, then you gain an important
tempo, allowing your side to develop
tricks before declarer. In a suit contract,
you can develop tricks, search for ruffs
and/or take away declarer’s tricks. But
perhaps the most commonly held feeling
after the first trick is that you have
given a trick away.

I am going to write this article in two
parts; the first part will discuss which
card to lead from a given suit; the second
part, in the next issue, will discuss which
suit to choose and why.

Which Card
Should You Lead
from a Given Suit

Let us start with a table:

K 9 8 4 2 4

K 9 8 4 4

K 9 4 4

K 9 K

9 9 

9 8 9

9 8 4 8

9 8 4 2 8

9 8 4 3 2 8

I will deal with leads from honour
sequences later, but this table shows all
the types of holding you can have and
which card you would lead if you had
chosen to lead the suit.

Note: I am not suggesting that you
will often lead away from a king, but if

you had chosen that suit to lead, then
the card you would lead is shown on the
right in the table.

4TH HIGHEST FROM AN HONOUR
(e.g. K 9 8 42)
From a long suit headed by an honour
(but with no honour sequence – see
later) you should lead the fourth highest
card.

It is important to note that this
standard lead includes the specification
‘from an honour’; this is of the utmost
importance to your partner who will be
playing his card in third position
assuming that you hold at least one
honour.

Too many players call their lead style
‘fourth highest’ and forget about the
‘from an honour’.

This is the standard lead in no-trumps
and if you choose to lead a long suit
against a suit contract.

3RD HIGHEST FROM THREE TO
AN HONOUR (e.g. K 9 4)
Again you lead a low card if you hold
an honour, making things easier for
your partner.

Not such a common lead, but it occurs
most frequently when leading the unbid
suit or your partner’s suit.

2ND FROM ‘NOTHING’
(e.g. 9 84 3 2)
From a long suit without an honour, you
should lead the second-highest card, in an
effort to differentiate between leads from
honours. Why the second highest and not
the top? Because sometimes you need the
top card to win a trick when all the
honours have gone. Take a look at the suit
in the following diagram; it is not
surprising that the honours are all in the
short holdings considering your length
and this is why you should keep your
highest ‘little’ card just in case. 

Observe what happens on the first
two tricks:

♠ K 10

♠ 9 6 4 3 2 ♠ A J 5 

♠ Q 8 7

You lead ♠ 6; dummy’s ten is covered
by the jack and queen. Your partner’s
ace kills the king on the second round
and that leaves your nine as the master.
You would have looked rather silly had
you wasted it on the first trick.

This is quite a common lead and can
be used to try to establish a suit or
simply as a safe lead.

MUD FROM THREE SMALL
(e.g. 9 84)
Middle Up Down, from three small
cards.

To differentiate between a doubleton
and tripleton, it is important to play
your highest card on the second round.
So you lead the eight and then play the
nine on the next round, otherwise if you
followed the eight with the four, your
partner would think you had led from a
doubleton.

Not an ideal lead if you can avoid it,
because it will often confuse partner
early in the hand; however, if you have
aces and kings in the other suits, or it is
an unbid suit, then you might choose to
lead from three small cards.

TOP OF A DOUBLETON
(e.g. K4, 94)
If you choose to make a lead from a
doubleton it is important to play the
highest card first. It achieves two things:
it unblocks the suit if you have an honour
and it gives a message to your partner. If
he sees you play high-low, then he will
know you have just two cards.

This is a very risky lead (especially an
honour doubleton), but if it is an unbid
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suit you will often find success, or, of
course, if it is your partner’s suit.

LEADING LOW FROM HONOURS
You will have noticed that whenever
you hold an honour you should  be
leading a low card, whilst without an
honour you should lead a higher card.

Let us see why I make such a fuss
about holding an honour:

♥ A J 5 2

♥ 9 8 7 3 ♥ K 10 6 

♥ Q 4

♣ A J 5 2

♣ Q 9 8 3 ♣ K 10 6 

♣ 7 4

Take a look at these two suits. You are
playing against 4♠ by South, and partner
leads the three of the suit and dummy
plays the two. What should you play? If
your partner led the same card from
both holdings you would have to guess.

In hearts you must take your king on
the first round, but in clubs your ten can
win the first trick

Let us work out the answer: if your
partner leads the three of clubs, he is
promising an honour; you can see the
ace, king, jack and ten, so you know
that he has the queen! Thus you know
that your ten will win the first trick.
However, in hearts your partner would
lead the eight and now you would know
that he did not hold the queen – hence
you would leap up with the king.

See what happens if you get this
wrong: if you play the ten of hearts at
trick one, declarer wins the queen, and
can then play the ace of hearts and ruff
your king away – not nice. But bad
things can happen in the club suit too: if
you play the king instead of the ten,
then declarer can finesse your partner
for the queen.

It is imperative to lead low from
honours only.

This holds true throughout the play and
not just at trick one. It is amazing how
many players make mistakes such as
these at trick one: either the wrong lead or
the wrong card from the leader’s partner.

Here is another diagram that exhibits
the difference; try it as a problem:

North South

1NT1

2NT 3NT
1 (13-15 HCP)

♠ 9 7 4

♥ A J 8

♦ A J 10 6

♣ 10 6 4

♠ 10 8 6 5 3 

♥ K 10 4

♦ Q 7 2

♣ J 7

Partner leads the seven of hearts; dummy
plays the eight. How do you defend?

Partner’s lead is denying an honour,
so rather than playing the ‘obvious’ ten,
you should actually win the trick with
the king and return the ten. This allows
your side to establish the heart suit
without difficulty. If instead you play
the ten, losing to declarer’s queen, then
declarer will make sure he keeps you on
lead, by running the nine of diamonds;
what can you do when you win with
your queen? Still holding the king and
four of hearts, you cannot afford to lead
hearts and thus your chance of defeating
the contract has gone.

♠ 9 7 4

♥ A J 8

♦ A J 10 6

♣ 10 6 4

♠ A 2 ♠ 10 8 6 5 3 

♥ 9 7 5 3 2 ♥ K 10 4

♦ K 5 3 ♦ Q 7 2

♣ Q 3 2 ♣ J 7

♠ K Q J

♥ Q 6

♦ 9 8 4

♣ A K 9 8 5

A lead of the second highest from a bad
suit can also help you to decide whether
to continue with the led suit or switch. If

you hold no high card in the suit and
your partner’s lead suggests he doesn’t,
then it makes sense to look for a switch.

Honour Leads

Suit No-trumps

K Q J 4 3 K K

K Q 5 4 3 K 4

K Q 10 4 3 K K

Q J 5 4 3 Q 4

Q J 9 4 3 Q Q

K J 10 4 3 J J

A J 10 4 3 A J

K J 9 4 3 4 4

When you hold a sequence of honours
you should always contemplate leading
the top card.

When you have three consecutive
cards starting with an honour, you lead
the top card against any contract.
However, when you have just two cards
the story is very different. You should
lead the top card against a suit contract,
but the ‘normal’ fourth-highest card
against a no-trump contract. The reason
for this is relatively straightforward: in
suit contracts it is the first two tricks
that are all important because usually
the third round of a suit will be ruffed,
hence there is no need to save your
honours for later. In no-trump contracts,
though, your aim is to establish your suit
and therefore you take your time and by
leading a small card you facilitate the
running of the suit.

♦ 10 8 6

♦ K Q 5 4 3 ♦ A 7 

♦ J 9 2 

This is a simple example of these honour
leads in action. Against 3NT you would
lead the four of diamonds and partner
could win the ace and return the suit
allowing you to win the first five tricks.
If, however, you had led the king, the suit
would have been blocked – or more
likely your partner would have played his
ace on your king expecting you to hold
the queen and jack, but in the end
declarer’s jack would make.

Against a suit contract, you would
lead the king because the blockage is
not so important and, on this layout,
your partner would overtake and lead
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the suit back allowing you to give him a
ruff. But if dummy’s and partner’s holding
are swapped, you can see how important
it is to lead high against a suit contract:

♦ A 7

♦ K Q 5 4 3 ♦ 10 8 6 

♦ J 9 2 

If you lead low, declarer will make the
first trick with the jack and the second
with the ace, ruffing any subsequent
leads – a disaster.

BROKEN SEQUENCES
In fact the rule for knowing when to
lead high or low is this:

Against suits: with two or more
touching high cards, lead high.
Against no-trumps: with more than
two touching high cards, lead high.

Why ‘more than two’ for no-trumps
rather than ‘three or more’? Because
with 'two and a half' you should lead
high! By that I mean a broken sequence
such as K-Q-10 or Q-J-9 where you
have two touching high cards and one
more just below. With these holdings
you should lead high because you hope
to be able to capture the missing honour
in declarer's hand:

♣ A 7

♣ K Q 10 4 3 ♣ 8 6 5 

♣ J 9 2

Here you lead the king of clubs against
any contract and when the ace is
knocked out you wait for partner to get
the lead to play a club through declarer

allowing you to pick up declarer’s jack.

INTERIOR SEQUENCES
When you hold three high cards with
the lower two touching, then you should
lead the higher of the touching cards,
e.g. from K-J-10-5-4, you lead the jack.

♠ Q 8 7

♠ K J 10 4 3 ♠ A 6 5 

♠ 9 2

Here is a simple example. If you lead the
four of spades, dummy plays low and
partner has to waste his ace on nothing.
Instead, you should lead the jack: now
dummy’s queen is easily captured.

Finally, notice the unusual lead of the
ace from A-J-10-4-3 against a suit
contract. This is because of one of the
golden rules of bridge:

Never lead awayfrom an aceon
the opening lead against a suit
contract.

All rules have their exceptions but this
has very few. 

One reason is obvious: in case the
declarer has a singleton – in which case
he might make his king and never need
to lose another trick in the suit.
However, like your leads from honours
which help partner to play in third
position, this rule is essential, because
the third player always assumes that
declarer and not partner holds the ace:

♥ Q 8 2

♥ K 10 7

Here is the simplest case: against a suit
contract partner leads the four of hearts.

What do you play? You know the lead is
from an honour and you know it is not
away from the ace. Thus partner’s honour
is the jack and the ten of hearts is the
correct card to play.

♥ Q 8 2

♥ J 9 6 4 3 ♥ K 10 7

♥ A 5

Had you played the king, declarer would
make an easy two tricks in the suit.

However, if the lead had been from
the ace the result would be calamitous
as a heart trick would disappear,
declarer scoring the jack at trick one.

♥ Q 8 2

♥ A 9 6 4 3 ♥ K 10 7

♥ J 5

Against no-trumps there is no such
worry: the loss of the first round is no
particular problem as it establishes the
suit to run. On the holding above,
whetheryou take the ace-king on the
first two rounds or not, you will have to
lose one trick to declarer – and
generally you do best to lose a trick
early. Thus, once again, the ten is the
right card to play, losing to the jack but
allowing the suit to run. Furthermore
the suit might have been divided:

♥ Q 8 2

♥ A J 6 4 3 ♥ K 10 7

♥ 9 5

And your ten would win the first trick.

Summing up

These are the rules of how to pick the
right card to lead from any given suit.
Most of them hold true throughout
the game, especially leading low from
honours. They also hold true when
leading partner’s suit: you should not
always lead the highest of your partner’s
suit, but follow the rules given above. ■
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REDUCE THE COST OF YOUR POSTAGE
Postage stamps for sale at 90% of face-value
Values supplied in 100s, higher values available as well 
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