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Dear Jerry,

My left-hand opponent opened
1¢, and partner doubled. I bid 1¥
holding:

AQ1064 YAO982 €J73 &84,

following the rule that with 4-4 in
the majors, you should bid up the
line. My partner insisted that the

-

Ask Jerry

rule for responding to a double
is different from the rule for
responding to an opening bid and
that Ishould have bid 14,

Is he right that this is still an-
other rule that I have to remem-
ber?

Overruled

Hi OR,

Unfortunately for you, I must side
with your partner on this issue on this
particular hand. Bidding when the
opponenfs have entered the auction is
not the same as responding to partner
when the opponents are silent.

Let’s stayt with the first of several
of my probably now familiar, if not
completely worn out, Jerryi-sms that I
think apply here:

“Integrate what you see with
what you have heard.”

Your partner’'s takeout double
suggests support or tolerance for all
unbid suits, along with values that
approximate at least an opening bid
in support of the unbid suit of your
choice. In effect, the takeout double is
like your partner has opened the bid-
ding 1 clubheartspade.

Looking at your 7 high-card points
and hearing aboul partner’s expected
13 or more, tells you that as a partner-
ship, you have aleast half the deck
in terms of values. In addition, you
rate to have an eight-card trump fit in
either spades, hearts or perhaps both.

Let’s say you responded 1% and the
auction continued this way:

LHO  Partner RHO You
IK Dbl Pass 19
24 Pass Pass ?

With the knowledge of our com-
bined values and fit (or fits), it cer-
tainly seems as if we should continue
to compete, or at least to drive the op-
ponents to a higher level, giving us a
better chance on defense. How would
you feel about your cuwrrent options?

The one who knows ... goes!

Your non-jump response to partner’s
takeout double hracketed your points
at somewhere between zero and 8 or
9. Only you know that you have the
values to compete to the two level at
least.

“Always plan a second bid be-

Jore you choose the first.”

If the auction did turn competitive,
you would be better placed had you
chosen to respond 1 & first:

LHO  Partner RHO You
14 Dbl Pass L&
24 Pass Pass 29

By bidding a second time, your
partner knows you have something,
rather than the zero points you may
have held. In addition, he is in a posi-
tion to pass 2 ¥ if that is your eight-
card fit, or return to 2 if that is your
best fit. If he holds only three of each
major, which is clearly possible, that's
Jjust unlucky. Suggest to your partner
that in the future, when you hold only
four-card suits, you would strongly
prefer that he try to hold at least four
in once of them!

A lot of bridge is not about rules,
but about thinking ahead. Your
partner provided good advice on a
sequence that is probably not well
covered in many text books. 3
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