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The Old Bridge Saying Says …

• “Second hand low, third hand high.”

• This is often good advice, but …

• There are several situations in which it’s not so good.

• Learn those situations and watch your game improve!

• (Note that the hands accompanying these bullet points can be found 
in your handout.)
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Situation 1. Taking the Setting Trick(s) Already Established

• In a pairs game, we want all the tricks possible
• Therefore, we sometimes duck the setting trick in the hopes of getting two

tricks

• Good declarers use this to their advantage

• High matchpoint scores can be achieved by ducking that setting trick and 
taking two more, instead

• High matchpoint scores can be achieved by cashing that setting trick

• In these situations, track results over time

• Experience counts!

• Today, pretend you’re in a team game – set the contract!
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Principles

• In team games – or money bridge – set the contract.

• In matchpoint games, do you set the contract or try for more tricks?
• You must be able to count declarer’s tricks. You can’t make this decision 

without that information.

• A knowledge of your opponents’ playing tendencies helps – but don’t depend 
on this information alone.

• As declarer, make the crucial play before the defenders develop a 
good picture of the hand. 
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Situation 2. Setting Tricks Have Not Been Established

• To set a contract with side suit tricks requires
• That the suit be established

• That an entry to the hand with the established tricks exists

• If you hold the side suit, try not to use your entry before that suit is 
established

• If your partner holds the side suit, use your entry to establish 
partner’s suit
• Before partner’s entry is removed, and

• Before your cards in partner’s suit have been removed
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Pointers

• The shorter you are in partner’s suit, the more imperative it is that 
you win a trick early to lead a card in that suit.

• If you win your trick when you no longer hold a card in partner’s suit, 
you may have lost the chance to set the contract.

• As declarer, this is the principle behind hold-up plays. Wait to win a 
trick in the opponents’ danger suit until one of the defenders is out of 
that suit.
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Situation 3. Don’t Let Declarer “Steal” a Trick

• Sometimes declarer needs to “steal” a trick to make his contract.
• This trick may need to be taken before the defenders have a picture of the 

hand.

• This trick may need to be taken to disrupt the defenders’ communication.

• This trick may need to be taken to disrupt the defenders’ tempo.

• As declarer, “steal” the trick as soon as possible. You have a much 
better chance of success if the defenders don’t know that’s what 
you’re doing.
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Pointer

• It is seldom right to defend in such a way that you leave yourself with 
the singleton ace of trumps.
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Situation 4. Split Your Honors to Guarantee a Trick

• With two touching honors in a suit, it may be right to “split” them, if 
it guarantees a trick in the suit.

• Play the lower of the two honors. You would play the highest card in 
an honor card sequence (three or more). This helps partner identify 
your holding in the suit – and by extension, declarer’s.

• If two or more higher honors are on your left, splitting your own 
honors might allow declarer to pick up the suit.

• If the holding in the suit is short in the hand to your left (Ax or Kx, for 
example), it’s likely that declarer plans to play high. Splitting your own 
honors might cost you a trick.
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A Reminder for Your Partner

• When second hand plays before declarer’s hidden hand, it’s often 
correct to make the same play you would make with that hand if you 
were playing before dummy.

• BUT, if you’re playing before the dummy, you can see the cards that 
will follow your play.

• Second hand play is not always obvious when you’re playing before 
the hidden hand.
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Hand Types Are Not Always Obvious

• To take the setting trick – or not

• To grab a trick to set up yours or partner’s suit – or not

• To keep declarer from stealing a trick – or not

• To split your honors – or not

• These situations may be combined in one hand

• And both defenders may be on the hot seat
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Situation 5. You Need to Disrupt Declarer’s Transportation

• If there is a long suit in dummy and declarer has no outside entry to 
that suit, start thinking about ways to limit declarer’s use of that suit.

• As second hand, with a sure trick in that suit, win the trick when 
declarer holds no more cards in the suit. Watch partner’s count 
signal!

• As second hand, with a useless honor in that suit, consider sacrificing 
that honor to allow partner to control declarer’s transportation.
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Situation 6. You Need to Unblock to Prevent an End Play

• It’s hard to sacrifice honor cards, but …

• If winning a trick means giving up at least one trick, maybe …

• Winning that trick isn’t such a good idea.

• If you have most of the defense’s high card points, you’re in danger of 
being end-played.
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Second Hand Should Also Play High …

• When holding an honor card sequence. Play the same card you would 
play if you were leading the suit. After all, you are the first hand to 
play in your partnership.

• When covering an honor with an honor – but only if the play is likely 
to generate a trick for your side.

Susan Goss Johnston, 29 February 2016



Second Hand High Summary

• When taking the setting trick(s)

• When establishing partner’s 
tricks – while you still can

• When declarer is trying to 
“steal” a trick

• When splitting your honors to 
guarantee your side a trick

• When it’s necessary to disrupt 
declarer’s transportation

• When it’s necessary to avoid an 
end play

• When holding an honor card 
sequence in the suit led

• When covering an honor with an 
honor – if it’s likely to guarantee 
your side a trick
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Remember!

• There are exceptions to all these “rules.”

• If it’s the right play when dummy is to your left, it’s probably the right 
play when declarer is to your left – but it’s not as easy to see.

• Think about second hand play before you’re called upon to make it. 
Sometimes the incorrect play, if made smoothly, still yields a good 
result – and you haven’t committed an impropriety.

• As declarer, make your crucial play before the defenders know the 
situation.
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