
Play Passive Defense

• When there is probably no
  long side suit against you

• When you have key cards in
  their suits

• When declarer is very strong
  and dummy is weak

• When they have bid tentatively
  or perhaps have overbid, and
  they may not have all their tricks

• When you lack an attacking
  suit at NT

•  When defending grandslams
   or 6NT



The Passive Defense
When the dummy hits with a balanced hand, the defenders go into their shells
and play the passive game.

--Edwin Kantar, Defense Bridge Play Complete

In the previous lesson we observed that the
presence of a long side suit threatens the defenders.
Declarer will want to use that side suit to dispose
of losers, compelling the defenders to act quickly
to take their tricks, even taking chances in order to
develop tricks.  But when a threatening side suit is
not present, the pressure shifts – or at least it will
shift if the defenders will allow it to shift.  For without
the long suit, and if the defenders guard against ruffs
in the short hand, declarer is left only with the
devices of his high cards.  These will take him just
so far.  So he will have to consider how to take
successful finesses, create endplays, and how
otherwise to promote his lower cards.

 Not always will he be able to deduce how
best to do so, and therefore he will welcome the
help of the defenders in solving his problems, perhaps
even putting them on lead to make errors.  When
this situation arises, or when you believe from the
bidding that it may arise, do not help, do not be
ambitious, but go into your shell.  The passive defense
means that you will make leads that are unlikely to
cost tricks.  Try to give back to declarer only what
he already has, and make him solve his own problems.

Take a look at the circumstances calling for
a passive defense:

• When there is probably no
  long side suit against you

• When you have key cards in
  their suits

• When declarer is very strong
  and dummy is weak

• When they have bid tentatively
  or perhaps have overbid, and
  they may not have all their tricks

• When you lack an attacking
  suit at NT

•  When defending grandslams
   or 6NT

The first four of these all indicate some sort
of weak point for the declaring side:  no long suit,
holes in their key suits, a dummy too weak to help
much, resources that may be overtaxed.  This is far
different from the positive declaring resources of
running side suits and extra ruffing power.  The
weight of problems this time are on declarer.  Let
him figure out where his tricks will come from.  Let
him guess who has the missing cards.  If he can’t
get to a weak dummy to take his finesses, don’t lead
anything that will let him take one.  If he is stretched
too thin, just let him crumble by himself.  Seek to
give him only what he already has.  Try to find safe
things to do and just stick with them, and collect
your tricks as they come your way.

At the other end of the spectrum in our list
of conditions are those when the defenders have
bid a grand slam or to 6 NT.  Here we can’t exactly
say they have weaknesses.  In fact, they have so very
much that you and partner probably lack the
resources to mount an attack.  All you have is a stray
honor or two.  Don’t play those suits.  Don’t play a
suit that may compromise partner.  All you can hope
for is that your meagre holding is somehow important
to declarer, and somehow you may end up winning
your honor, if you don’t give it away first.  Against a
grand slam a trump lead should be automatic, not
to reduce ruffing power, but simply to be as passive
as you possibly can be.



No sign of a long running suit
Let’s look at some hands to see what difficulties

declarers are facing and how the passive defense
succeeds.

7 3
K Q 10 5
A 8 5 4
Q 7 2

West

North
A 9 6 5
A 6 4
J 7 2
10 5 4

1       P      2  P
P       P

S      W       N       E

Sitting West you make the fine and sensible lead of
the king of hearts.  Partner plays the 2 and declarer
puts on the 3.  Is this just a simple holdup by declarer?
 No, it is not.  Your king promises the queen, so if East
has the jack, he has a helpful card, and he will signal
you with a high card.  East’s 2 indicates he does not
have the jack,  so declarer does.  Declarer is attempting
a Bath Coup.  If you fall for it, declarer will gain a
trick.  That is, if you now continue hearts by leading
the queen, declarer will take it with his ace, and
declarer’s jack will be good for a subsequent round.
 If, on the other hand, you continue the heart suit by
leading low, he will let it ride around to his jack, and
his ace will remain for a subsequent round.  Either
way, if you continue the suit, declarer will have taken
advantage of you with the Bath Coup.

Avoiding a Bath Coup is not particularly
difficult, especially if partner signals you properly.
But even if declarer fails in his attempt to lure you
into an error, he accomplishes something very real.
He has compelled you to break off your play of the
heart suit, so now you must find some other suit to
lead.  It would appear that declarer would like some
help from you in breaking a new suit.  Well, if declarer
wants it, you should not do it.  You need to find the
most harmless lead available and play passive defense.
Frequently the most passive lead is a trump, just

because it is their best suit, and declarer frequently
has it under control.  In the present hand, declarer
has five in his hand, you have 2, and you see 4 trump
in dummy.  That leaves just 2 in partner’s hand, so
you can lead trump without giving declarer any
advantage.

Let’s take a look at the entire hand:

SOUTH
Q J 8 4 2
J 7 3
K 6
A J 3

NORTH
A 9 6 5
A 6 4
J 7 2
10 5 4

WEST
7 3
K Q 10 5
A 8 5 4
Q 7 2

EAST
K 10
9 8 2
Q 10 9 3
K 9 8 6

N

S
EW

You have switched to the 3 of trump, and
declarer surveys his chances.  Let’s look at diamonds.
 We have the advantage of seeing all the cards.  We
can see that if declarer leads diamonds, he will not
be able to win any diamond tricks at all.  If he leads
a low diamond toward his king, West will win and
East’s queen still sits over dummy’s jack.  If declarer
tries leading the jack first, East simply covers, and
when South puts on his king, West’s ace wins, and
East’s 10 and 9 are established for the defense.  But
if either defender leads a diamond, now declarer can
win a diamond trick.  If, for instance, East were to
lead diamonds, declarer plays low from his hand, and
West will have to take his ace or surrender to dummy’s
jack.

Now check out declarer’s club suit.  If he were
to lead low from dummy and play his jack, West wins



the queen. Subsequently, if declarer tries the finesse
again by playing the 10 from dummy, East simply covers
with the queen and establishes his 9.  In other words,
with these cards, the only club trick south can win is
his ace.  But if the defenders were to lead clubs instead
of declarer, now he will be able to win two club tricks.

So declarer needs the defenders to lead the
minor suits, and the defenders need to stay passive and
avoid leading the minor suits.  A game of cat and mouse
often arises, then, between the two sides.

Coming back to our present hand, declarer ducks
the 3 of spades, and East wins his king.  He should be
able to understand some key points.  First of all, partner
is not trying to reduce dummy’s ruffing power.  Dummy
has too many trump and no real shortness.  Second, if
West had the jack of hearts, he could simply have
continued with hearts.  Therefore declarer has the jack
of hearts, West just the queen.  But who has the 10 of
hearts?  If partner has it, he truly wants East to lead a
heart now.  If declarer has it, no harm can come from
leading a heart because declarer can always play hearts
himself.  Therefore East’s lead of the 9 of hearts will be
either helpful, at best, or neutral, at worst.

Declarer plays a low heart, and so does West, so
dummy wins the ace.  Declarer now cashes the ace of
spades, which draws trump and eliminates trump as a
safe lead for the defenders.  Now declarer leads a heart
himself, which puts West in.  West is on the spot.  He
must either lead a minor suit, which we know will help
declarer, or he can give a ruff and a sluff, which also
helps declarer.  West dislikes this circumstance, obviously,
and wants to avoid its reoccurrence.  He decides to
lead his ace of diamonds and he gets out with a diamond.

The clever declarer has been able to win a
diamond trick by forcing West’s lead, but now his
resources are exhausted.  He is compelled to lead the
clubs himself, yielding 2 more losers.  All in all the
defenders collect 1 spade, 2 hearts, 1 diamond, and 2
clubs, for a one trick set.  The passive defense prevails.

Let’s look at another hand:

You hold key cards in their suits

9 4 2
Q 10 9
K 10 8 2
K 7 5

West S      W       N       E
1 P

1  P 1 P
1  P 2 P
4  P P P

This auction is unusual because South did not bypass
diamonds to bid spades.  Perhaps this North-South
does not bypass diamonds, or perhaps South has 5
diamonds and 4 spades to go with her game forcing
points as responder.  If South does have 5 diamonds,
then West holds key cards in that suit.  For that matter,
West holds a key card in all of the side suits.  This
auction is screaming for a trump lead:

•  dummy has bid 2 suits and raised a third
•  you have a strong holding in declarer’s side
    suit
•  you hold key cards in all their suits and 
    want a passive lead.

So you lead the 2 of spades.  Here is the hand:

SOUTH
K J 7 6 5
J 5
A Q J 6
Q 3

NORTH
A Q 8 3
K 8 4 2
7 4
A 10 6

WEST
9 4 2
Q 10 9
K 10 8 2
K 7 5

EAST
10
A 7 6 3
9 5 3
J 9 8 4 2

N

S
EW

South’s bidding is peculiar and out of step with
common sense.  East-West will suffer some confusion
as soon as they discover that South has 5 spades.  But
we sometimes encounter strange bidding and bidding
errors.

Examine the side suits, beginning with clubs.
  We can see that if South leads hearts, he cannot win
any heart tricks and will have two losers.  But if East-
West play on hearts first, he may escape with one
loser only.  Now look at clubs.  If declarer breaks this
suit, he will win only the ace.  If the defenders break
clubs, declarer may win two tricks.  Looking at



diamonds, the king is offside, so declarer will lose
that one.  It appears that declarer may have to lose
2 hearts, 1 club, and 1 diamond, which is one too
many.  But can he do anything to limit the damage?
(For convenience, the hand appears again)

SOUTH
K J 7 6 5
J 5
A Q J 6
Q 3

NORTH
A Q 8 3
K 8 4 2
7 4
A 10 6

WEST
9 4 2
Q 10 9
K 10 8 2
K 7 5

EAST
10
A 7 6 3
9 5 3
J 9 8 4 2

N

S
EW

South wins the trump lead in dummy and tries
a diamond finesse, his queen losing to West’s king.
West continues spades again, declarer playing low in
dummy and winning in hand.  He cashes the ace of
diamonds, followed by the jack of diamonds, discarding
a club in dummy.   He ruffs the 6 of diamonds.  Now
he cashes the ace of clubs and exits with a club,
losing to West’s king.   Declarer had hoped that East
held the club king.  If he had, then East would either
have had to lead a heart or yield a ruff and sluff.  But
it was West who held the club king, and West still has
a trump to exit with and is not forced to lead hearts.
 South loses two heart tricks.  In all, South loses two
hearts, one diamond, and one club, which is one too
many.  West was always able to find a safe exit card.
If South had pulled West’s last trump, eliminating it
as a safe exit, West still would then have had a safe
exit with another club because there would be no
threat of a ruff and sluff.  Note that West’s passive
play allowed him to score all three honors in his
hand.  This was not a hand to be leading from one of
them, was it?  But why would we, when all indicators
pointed to a trump lead.

Strong declarer, weak dummy
When declarer is strong and dummy weak, a

communication problem usually exists.  Declarer
needs to get to dummy to lead toward his strength,
but dummy lacks the needed entries, so that declarer
may end up having to lead from his hand, away from
his strength.  He will very much appreciate defenders
who attack the side suits, because  they will be leading
into him, which he may not be able to accomplish
on his own.  Remember this, and put up a passive
defense when the auction shows an imbalance of
power between dummy and declarer.

         

10 4 2
A 5 4 2
A J
10 9 8 7

West S      W       N       E
2      P       2      P
2      P       3      P
4      P       P      P

2nd negative

South is willing to try game with no help from
his dummy, who expresses a lack of values.  Ordinarily
the top of a sequence is a passive lead, but the lead
of your club sequence should hold no allure for you.
 You may still be helping declarer locate an honor
card in you partner’s hand.  Spades would be safer.
Declarer probably has seven to bid this way, meaning
partner will be very short anyway.  Or, if declarer has
only 6 trump, they will be solid.  For safety, prefer a
trump lead to a sequence devoid of honors.  (The
hand appears on the next page.)



     

SOUTH
A K Q J 7 3
6
K Q
A K J 5

NORTH
9 5
Q 10 7 3
8 7 4 3 2
6 4 3

WEST
10 4 2
A 5 4 2
A J
10 9 8 7

EAST
8 6
K J 9 8
10 9 6 5
Q 3 2

N

S
EW

Defenders will always be winning their two
aces, but woe to the West who led the 10 of clubs,
because he gave up his partner’s queen, allowing
declarer to make an overtrick.  Those defenders who
led a trump will also win the queen of clubs to go
with their two aces, because declarer can’t get to
dummy  to finesse.  These defenders will hold declarer
to just 10 tricks.  But wasn’t it possible that the trump
lead could have finessed a spade in partner’s hand?
Yes, it was possible, but West is shooting in the dark
on his lead, and, on balance, declarer will have good
cards in his own self-sufficient suit.

No attacking suit at notrump
A well-known rule of thumb tells us to lead

4th down from our longest and strongest suit at
notrump. The concept is that notrump is a race
between declarer and the defenders to establish their
source of tricks.  Experts are not unanimous in touting
this concept when your suit is only four cards long.
 They suggest that a source of tricks ought to be
greater than a four-card suit; and, when you lead away
from your single or double honor, you often help
declarer establish an extra trick of his own.  The risk
taken by underleading an honor or honors in a 4-card
suit does not, they suggest, justify the gain, if any.  An

attacking suit, then, if we pay attention to this line of
thought, is a suit headed by a sequence, or it is a 5-
card suit.  Lacking such a suit, many experts suggest
we consider the lead of the unbid major, if suits have
been bid, or else to take a passive approach.

SOUTH
10 9 5 2
A K J
A Q 10
Q 6 2

NORTH
Q J 4
8 7 5
K 5 4 3
K 10 3

WEST
A 6
Q 9 4 3
J 8 7 6
8 5 4

EAST
K 8 7 3
10 6 2
9 2
A J 9 7

N

S
EW

S      W       N       E
1NT  P       2NT  P
3NT  P       P      P

West is on lead, and his suits are nothing to
brag about.  The lead of a heart or a diamond will
give declarer a trick and his contract.  The lead of the
8 of clubs, however, keeps West’s honors safe in his
hand, where declarer cannot get to them.  The queen
of hearts prevents declarer’s jack from becoming a
trick.  The jack of diamonds prevents South from
taking 4 diamond tricks.  As it turns out in this hand,
the club lead strikes a blow for East’s best suit, and
the South cannot make 3NT.  Declarer will probably
call for the club 10, and East should play his jack,
surrendering the trick to declarer’s queen.  Now East
has control of the suit, with the ace and nine sitting
over dummy’s king.  When declarer plays on spades,
West will win his ace and continue a club.


