Micro Bridge Lesson 36
Dummy ARAJ97
Declarer AKT865
The bridge maxim “Eight Ever, Nine Never” was
designed to make easier the decision whether to
finesse for the SQ or play SA then SK. The theory is
with 4 trumps missing, the queen will come down
most of the time. So, with nine trumps, never finesse.
This is called playing for the drop. The contrary is
true with 8 trumps between you and dummy. Now,
they are likely to break 3-2 with the queen with the
longer holding. Therefore, you should finesse giving
you a 50% chance.

With nine trumps, the reasoning is flawed. The queen
is coming down 54% of the time. That isn’t much
better than the finesse!

Instead, you need to look at the whole hand. There
are frequently clues as to the approach you should
take:-

¢ Did one opponent make a pre-emptive bid? If so,
that takes care of more of his 13 cards making a
spade shortage more likely.

¢ Did an opponent double your contract? Play him for
the queen. Silly double, wasn't it?

e Is this a slam and did your LHO bang down an ace
at trick one with little indication that it would be a
good idea? If so, this person might fancy their
chances of having a trump winner also from Qxx

¢ In No trumps, can you play on other suits first to get
an idea of the distribution?

¢ The flinch test. Quickly play ST look out for a pause
from LHO. Of course, if you act on the opponent’s
flinches, it is at your own risk! Somewhat bizarrely,
some opponents will actually cover your ten.

¢ Avoidance play. If you cannot stand to have your
RHO on lead, play ST to the SA and then run the SJ.
OK, when the spades are 2-2, you have conceded a
trick. How important is this? At teams, it is fine so
long as your contract is safe. This safety play is
highly recommended. At pairs, it is not so easy. The
overtrick which you concede when the spades are
2-2 will cost. There are other issues to consider:-

...Is this an unbelievably good contract?

...Is this a slam?

...Will an average result from this board be sufficient?
...Would a different opening lead have scuttled the
contract?

If the answer to any of these questions is “Yes”, then
the safety play is warranted.

¢ Being “with the field”. At pairs, there are lots of
boards where you expect most of the field will be in
the same contract and you expect the “standard line”
will be taken by most declarers. To do something
different will probably result in a different number of
tricks. Top pairs players wait for the good results to
come to them — they don’t chase them on every
board!

Dummy &AJT986
Declarer K75

Here you are declarer in 3NT. There are no outside
entries in dummy. How should you play the suit?
Ask your self a few questions:-

Eight Ever, Nine Never

e How many tricks do | need from this suit? If you
need six, you had better play for the drop. If you need
only five and you don’t mind losing to RHO, then you
should play SK then small to SJ.

¢ Notice if you play for the drop and it fails, you get
two tricks.

¢ At pairs, if the opening lead seems odd and has
donated a trick to you, you should finesse. Don’t be
greedy unless you need to shoot for tops because of
earlier bad scores.

Tip: On the CK did you drop the C8 from dummy? If
LHO has all four clubs, you will then be able to run
your C7 from hand, saving a valuable entry

Dummy S»AKT7432
Declarer £86

With no other entries, how should you play this suit?
Again, you reasoning should be as before. How
many tricks etc

When | played this hand in 3NT, | led the 8 and LHO
popped up with Queen. Good news, eh?

Not quite. Ask yourself, “Why did he play the queen?”
Answer : “Because it was the only one he had!l’

That means your RHO has J95. If you don’t duck that
queen, you will lose the third trick in the suit and that
will be curtains. Of course, LHO may be playing the
queen from QJ doubleton. In that case, he’s too
clever for me.

Defending with Qxx
The answer to this is PLAN.
When you're looking at Qxx, you can be sure that
declarer will be looking for your queen.
¢ Don't fall for the flinch test!
e Check out dummy and decide your plan. As surely
as night follows day, this suit is going to be played.
...If it is trumps, make sure that you have your plan
immediately dummy hits the table.
...Does he have nine trumps? If so, he’s probably
going to play for the drop unless you — or partner with
a singleton — give him other ideas. Remember, it is
very bad ethics to pause with a singleton. However,
you don’t have to play it at the speed of light either.
...If dummy is on your left with AKx(x) of trumps, it
looks like your queen is dead. Not necessarily.
Declarer’'s trumps might be so bad that the finesse is
not possible.

XX
AKxx

Oxx

FAQ: So, do | cover the jack from declarer or not?
ANS: Well, if you think about it when the jack hits the
table, it's too late!. The bridge maxim, “Always cover
an honour with an honour” is untrue. It should be
“Cover an honour with an honour if it could promote a
card in either your own or partner’s hand.”

If declarer has J432, he shouldn’t be leading the jack.
He should be playing AK and hoping for a doubleton
queen to drop. So, he probably has the ten. If it must
be a 4-4 fit from the bidding, you should duck
smoothly. Let him fish for it!



